Does the carbon inside your filter remove nutrients from the water?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 09:40 PM   #1
AlanLe
Dude Where's Your CO2?
 
AlanLe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 865
Default

Does the carbon inside your filter remove nutrients from the water?


Does the carbon inside your filter remove nutrients from the water?
AlanLe is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2013, 11:03 PM   #2
Rich Guano
Planted Member
 
Rich Guano's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arnoldsville, GA
Posts: 216
Default

Yes, it does. But only for a couple of weeks, when it becomes so clogged with nutrients that it can collect no more. Then it is essentially reduced to being decent biological filtration.

Generally we only use carbon in the filter to remove (recently used) medications. It serves no other positive purpose in a well planted tank.
__________________
Have an open mind, but not so open that your brains fall out.

Think outside the glass box.
Rich Guano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:22 AM   #3
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

People disagree about this, but in my tank's filter, I switched out carbon for purigen and my tank is clearer and the plants seem to be doing better since then. But rich is right, no need for carbon in a planted tank.
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:24 AM   #4
Aquatic Delight
H is for Hillstream
 
Aquatic Delight's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 2,118
Default

i run carbon in my tanks as a safety measure. i have to much time and money invested in my tanks to not.
__________________
Will
________________________________

Hillstream/Boreno Loach Refuge

A Light Heart is Better than a Heavy Wallet.
Aquatic Delight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:25 AM   #5
Bluek24a4
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 817
Default

I haven't used carbon in years.
Bluek24a4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:27 AM   #6
musician71604
Planted Member
 
musician71604's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: AR
Posts: 233
Default

I use carbon only when I have a concern about the tank, but most of the time it's only temporary and I remove it. I've never used purigen in my planted tanks before.
musician71604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:44 AM   #7
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,715
Default

I thought activated carbon did not have a great affinity for most of the salts we use when we dose dry ferts or dose them wet.
I thought it (AC) could remove the chelated fertilizer (mostly iron). It would probably remove any fertilizer that is in some sort of organic compound.
But, as noted above it gets full of other things pretty fast and stops removing anything.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:04 AM   #8
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,251
Default

Pretty much agree with all the comments above.
Using carbon seems to be a reasonable clarifyer for a short period of time, and does remove unwanted meds after a treatment, but other than that, it seems quite suspect for doing any good after a while, perhaps even leaching unwanted elements back into the tank in time. I've avoided it for many years.

After much lengthy trial over the years, I much prefer Purigen, which does a great job on a long term basis at removing impurities, clarifying, polishing, and purifying.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:45 PM   #9
Bubba Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 349
Default

Where do you get purigen filter pads I have a eheim 2213?
__________________
So a guy walks into a Pet Store

Guy: "I have Algae on my drift wood!"

Pet Clerk: "Take two Plecos and call me next week."



EHEIM Classic 2213
Check out my blog
tsturgeonblog.wordpress.com/
Bubba Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:00 PM   #10
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,251
Default

You can buy Purigen in it's own fine mesh bag (100 ml, I believe), or you can get the Purigen particles loose in a 250 ml jar, and bag it yourself in a suitable sized fine mesh bag, to more or less fit your filter placement.

The Purigen beads are very tiny though - so be careful you have a fine enough mesh bag to contain the particles, or double-bag so they don't escape. It can make a bit of a mess in your tank if they do.
You can get 2 sizes of suitable bags at most PetSmart stores (but double-bag).
Or you can buy different-sized Organza bags at gift shops/dollar stores, etc.
Or you can use doubled-up nylon stocking material.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012