anubias, java fern only tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Aquascaping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 03:25 AM   #1
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

anubias, java fern only tank


I Want to do a anubias, java fern only tank. Anyone got any idea how should it be done?
This will be a 75 gallon discus tank.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2013, 06:44 AM   #2
lochaber
Planted Tank Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,092
Default

I guess just tie them onto the hardscape?

You may be able to just lay some along the substrate, but it will probably take a bit of time for the plants to anchor and orient themselves.

maybe try getting a couple different varieties of each, just for some attempt at diversity.

On the upside, it shouldn't take much maintenance...
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:59 AM   #3
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lochaber View Post
I guess just tie them onto the hardscape?

You may be able to just lay some along the substrate, but it will probably take a bit of time for the plants to anchor and orient themselves.

maybe try getting a couple different varieties of each, just for some attempt at diversity.

On the upside, it shouldn't take much maintenance...
On top of tieing them to the hardscape you can place them at the base of your hardscape - it looks great. To do this I went out to my yard and washed/boiled a few pieces of gravel and tied smaller pieces of Anubias to them and then placed them around my driftwood. It all grew in and formed a nice bushy base around my hardscape. Also it'll grow into your substrate after a couple of weeks - just make sure to put some ferts in the water column.
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:48 PM   #4
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

Since those plants look terrific attached to a strong hard scape it would be a bit of a waste to plant them in substrate. Get a substantial branch you like that and a lot more rocks than you think you need. Put rocks under and around the branch as it is laid on its side and plant anubias among them and put java ferns at major branchings on the wood. ADA has a lot of this sort of thing on their youtube channel. Often plus foreground and background stems but it looks great without. I would use sand and more small rocks where there isn't wood/rocks.

As long as you like the rocks it is fine, you don't need to buy the expensive bonsai/aquarium ones. The first ones I used were dug up in my yard over 20 years and finally I want them! They are cobbles with smoothed edges but with a lot of texture. Just try to get ones that are more or less the same sort, not black and white mixed.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:49 PM   #5
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

Right now my plants are tie onto lava rock.
I want to remove the soil under my sand since there really no need for soil,
A stupid thing I did. Also I'm still hunting down seller that will sell 30-50 anubias at a discount.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012