Questions on ADA Soil and HC seperating
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 02:29 AM   #1
markstr
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle WA.
Posts: 399
Default

Questions on ADA Soil and HC seperating


I've noticed that after growing a nice patch of HC it is finally starting to separate from my Substrate using ADA Amazonian. I know this has been brought up over time but...
I believe that part of the reason here is "Granular" size. I have around a 1-2 inch thick patch of this. and sections are starting to release ... I was thinking of going to the smaller granular size of this for roots to take better hold of over time ? It has grown fabulous over time in the soil I might add.. Or, could I leave it as is and just put some additional soil on top of it ?
Or, just pull up and replant the entire HC over again ?? Thank you ........
markstr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 03:36 AM   #2
Bunbuku
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markstr View Post
I've noticed that after growing a nice patch of HC it is finally starting to separate from my Substrate using ADA Amazonian. I know this has been brought up over time but...
I believe that part of the reason here is "Granular" size. I have around a 1-2 inch thick patch of this. and sections are starting to release ... I was thinking of going to the smaller granular size of this for roots to take better hold of over time ? It has grown fabulous over time in the soil I might add.. Or, could I leave it as is and just put some additional soil on top of it ?
Or, just pull up and replant the entire HC over again ?? Thank you ........
If you keep the HC trimmed very short (<1"). It will be less likely to lift off the substrate. Some folks also cutout patches of carpet to give it room to crawl sideways. I have the same iwagumi starting its second yr in my 60P. In that time I replanted the carpet about 3 times in the same Amazonia substrate. After I push the HC plugs in, I just sprinkle a layer of Amazonia powder type and stuck in a few sticks of Multibottom - then it's good to go! You could put more soil on top but you will still need to trim. Plus fresh Amazonia will give you a little NH3 spike which your livestock probably won't like.
Bunbuku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 03:40 AM   #3
freph
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunbuku View Post
If you keep the HC trimmed very short (<1"). It will be less likely to lift off the substrate. Some folks also cutout patches of carpet to give it room to crawl sideways. I have the same iwagumi starting its second yr in my 60P. In that time I replanted the carpet about 3 times in the same Amazonia substrate. After I push the HC plugs in, I just sprinkle a layer of Amazonia powder type and stuck in a few sticks of Multibottom - then it's good to go! You could put more soil on top but you will still need to trim. Plus fresh Amazonia will give you a little NH3 spike which your livestock probably won't like.
Pretty much this.

But, as long as your HC is growing well and sending out deep roots it won't come up. I had my 20L ~80% carpeted with HC at one point and never had issues with it lifting up. All I had to do was keep it trimmed and it was happy. Every 2 weeks seemed to be the regular.
__________________
freph is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 04:22 AM   #4
markstr
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle WA.
Posts: 399
Default Picture of HC Coming up

Here's a shot of it. Do the Roots looks developed properly ? This is at around 3-4 months or less.... Hi Light CO2 injected Amazonia Soil...
Should I just take "Plugs" from this and then submerse them back into the Soil ??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HC coming up 2.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	71457  

markstr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 04:55 AM   #5
FlyingHellFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,023
Default

I see your uprooted HC Cuba carpet and raise you this:

__________________
FlyingHellFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 05:18 AM   #6
minicrazy592
Algae Grower
 
minicrazy592's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Corpus Christ, Texas
Posts: 132
Send a message via Skype™ to minicrazy592
Default

Looks like my old horse face loach visited your tank ^^^
__________________
minicrazy592 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 01:18 PM   #7
ChadRamsey
Wannabe Guru
 
ChadRamsey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 1,420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingHellFish View Post
I see your uprooted HC Cuba carpet and raise you this:

WOW flyinghellfish, thats an AMAZING carpet of HC you have there!!! What substrate are you using? It looks like sand.

Yes trimming has much to do with it coming uprooted. I too am using AS and have a carpet of HC and have NOT had a problem YET!

But i would imagine that the lighting, nutrient dosing and tank occupants play a factor in the uprooting as well.

Is it possible that any of these could be the culprit?
__________________


There are 2 types of people on this forum. Those that have algae, and those that lie and say they don't.
ChadRamsey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 11:15 PM   #8
FlyingHellFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,023
Default

^ It's Flourite Black.

Here is the aftermath.



I fixed the problem of it uprooting and it was growing well. What happen was my fault, I tried pulling a stem of HC Cuba but it wasn't a stem or HC, it was Hydrocotyle sibthorpioides. They send out roots everywhere!
You can see a bit of the root at the right side, damn plant is a menace I tell you, grows too fast.
__________________
FlyingHellFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 03:46 AM   #9
Bunbuku
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 80
Default

Once it's floating like that it's hard to get to stay down. I'd make little plugs and replant them deep enough that only the tips peek out the soil.
Bunbuku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 04:14 AM   #10
markstr
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle WA.
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunbuku View Post
Once it's floating like that it's hard to get to stay down. I'd make little plugs and replant them deep enough that only the tips peek out the soil.
That's exactly what I did.. I just took small sections and divided up and ran em' in as plugs..
Went deep as well.. Jeez, I got so much of this but am working on another scape so heck, I guess I'll have plenty to go around LOL !!
markstr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 05:49 AM   #11
minicrazy592
Algae Grower
 
minicrazy592's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Corpus Christ, Texas
Posts: 132
Send a message via Skype™ to minicrazy592
Default

When my carpet was coming in my pesky little horse face loach was ripping up my newly formed mats every night. Instead of making plugs I just took a pinch of substrate and sprinkled a little on top of the now floating mat till I had enough to keep it in place. It would eventually reroot till he dug it up again a couple of weeks later.
__________________
minicrazy592 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012