Want to redo my tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Aquascaping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
TECKSPEED
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TECKSPEED's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 742
Default

Want to redo my tank


Hi all,

I currently have a 20 gallon tank with two 18 inch amazon sword, a bunch maybe 10 or so of 8 inch amazon sword, some java fern, and two banana plants. Ive had my tank up and running for a while now and im getting tired of looking at the same old rookie mistakes i made when first setting up. I just kind of placed plants without thinking lol. If you could please help me out with some ideas or tips that would be great.

Here is my tank:

Last edited by TECKSPEED; 06-24-2014 at 04:44 PM..
TECKSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2013, 03:26 PM   #2
CoffeeLove
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
CoffeeLove's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ca
Posts: 601
Default Re: Want to redo my tank

Get rid of that clown puke gravel

Get a nice piece of wood and a couple of rocks and redo it, make it look natural.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
CoffeeLove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:27 PM   #3
CoffeeLove
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
CoffeeLove's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ca
Posts: 601
Default Re: Want to redo my tank

Oh and take all the fake plants out, especially the gaudy pink thing.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
CoffeeLove is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:07 PM   #4
TECKSPEED
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TECKSPEED's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 742
Default

what substrate do you suggest, and i know the gravel is ugly but its what i had when money was tight, thanks, also i want to add a couple more plants into my tank to replace the other fake ones i have, suggestions
TECKSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:12 PM   #5
zoragen
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
zoragen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N. VA
Posts: 312
Default

The gravel doesn't have to be expensive. Petco has nice gravel.

The swords will appreciate fert tabs.

I like crypts. In my 20g I have lutea, spiralis & red wenti.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club #490 Ecco 2232
zoragen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:17 PM   #6
TECKSPEED
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TECKSPEED's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 742
Default

honestly i feel if i go get different aquarium gravel there is no point in taking the current stuff out, kind of just a bother you know? If i got any other substrate it would probably be eco-complete or something of that nature. i am just unsure if i need to redose my micro and macro ferts when i do that
TECKSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:01 PM   #7
tiggity
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 472
Default

Pool Filter Sand, 50 lbs. for $7.99 Plants will grow nicely with some root tabs.
__________________
40B Dirt | Aqueon Evolve 8 Dirt | Fraternity of Dirt #120
tiggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:05 PM   #8
TECKSPEED
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TECKSPEED's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 742
Default

isnt sand messy? also i am unsure how to clean that when the time comes
TECKSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:11 PM   #9
tiggity
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 472
Default

Surprisingly no. I used it in my new 40B set up and I just dumped it in (before water) without washing it. When I filled the tank, it was a little cloudy but 24hrs later with the filter running it cleared up.

It may look white in pictures but it's actually cream color and looks good.
__________________
40B Dirt | Aqueon Evolve 8 Dirt | Fraternity of Dirt #120
tiggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:13 PM   #10
TECKSPEED
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TECKSPEED's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 742
Default

ive already got my tank set up with fish in, how would i go about redoing my substrate with fish like that
TECKSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:19 PM   #11
tiggity
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 472
Default

You can scoop out the gravel with fish and water still in it. Make sure you turn off the filter when putting sand it. Use a cup and slowly let it fill with water with the sand in it and pour in the tank slowly. Once you have your sand in, rescape, do a water change and start up your filter.

This is how I did it with my 10 gallon when it had regular gravel and I swapped it out with Flourite capped with sand. This was messier due to the flourite and I could barely see anything with the tank. But a quick water change almost 90%, and 24hrs. later it cleared up nicely.
__________________
40B Dirt | Aqueon Evolve 8 Dirt | Fraternity of Dirt #120
tiggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:31 PM   #12
TECKSPEED
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TECKSPEED's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 742
Default

so your saying turn my filter off, take gravel out, scoop sand in slowly and let it settle?
TECKSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:42 PM   #13
tiggity
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TECKSPEED View Post
so your saying turn my filter off, take gravel out, scoop sand in slowly and let it settle?

Yes. Actually, I would leave it running when removing the gravel then turn it off when putting sand in.

However, the gravel you have is fine for a planted tank. I started out with a small Petco bookshelf with blue and white gravel and Sponge Bob decor (my daughter's request ). I used root tabs and Flourish comprehensive and the plants grew, slowly, but it grew.
__________________
40B Dirt | Aqueon Evolve 8 Dirt | Fraternity of Dirt #120
tiggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:50 PM   #14
TECKSPEED
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TECKSPEED's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 742
Default

sweet thanks for your help
TECKSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012