peat in my filter? how much?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2003, 03:39 AM   #1
tony-da-tiger
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to tony-da-tiger
Default

i decided too set up a 55g amazon tank mainly with neons and angels. YES I KNOW ANGELS USUALLY EAT NEONS. sorry but many people have told me that but in my experience that has not been true. and i figured if i want too keep discus later this would be the tank but im not ready for the extra work they require :cry: . I want too achieve that blackwater look and hopefully lower my PH a bit by adding peat too my filter. i have a rena xp3 for this tank right now and im not sure how much peat too add. i bought some fluval aquarium peat from my lfs and the box has 70g, or 2.5OZ of peat. how much of this would you reccomend i put in my filter?
tony-da-tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2003, 04:18 AM   #2
Saluki
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Saluki
Default

It all depends on your starting water parameters, and your desired parameters. Start with a little, and keep adding more a little at a time until you get the desired results.
Saluki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 04:27 AM   #3
tony-da-tiger
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to tony-da-tiger
Default

well im not too worried about my PH, its fine im more worried about over doing it so how much should i start out with? a 1/3 of the bag? less? more?
tony-da-tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 04:34 PM   #4
Angel12
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Manchester United Kingdom
Posts: 101
Send a message via MSN to Angel12
Default

It all depends on what the KH (alkalinity) of your tank is the higher the KH the more peat you need to add as the Kh prevents the ph from dropping (acts as a stabalizer) so if your Kh was around the 4-5 Mark then you would need more Peat than if it was 1 or 2 ...

if you have a very low Kh you are more prone to a PH crash

HTH

Angel12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 04:41 PM   #5
Saluki
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Saluki
Default

Without knowing your water parameters, it would be impossible to guide you on how much to use.
Saluki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 09:02 PM   #6
tony-da-tiger
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to tony-da-tiger
Default

my gh is 75 and my kh is 80 and my ph is in the 7.2-7.8 range.
tony-da-tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 09:25 PM   #7
Moebius
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 53
Default

75 and 80? Does your water come out of the faucet in chunks? I thought my 12 dph was high!!!

If you mean 75 and 80 ppm, then translates to about 4-5 dph, which would require no softening. One dph = 17.9 ppm

What are the units behind the "75" & "80"...dph?, ppm?, etc.
__________________
Moebius

75 gallon ph 6.8, Nitrate 5.0ppm, Phosphate .5ppm, Ammonia & Nitrites 0
GH & KH ~12 3wpg lighting
Moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 09:44 PM   #8
tony-da-tiger
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to tony-da-tiger
Default

yeah im talking in ppm, sorry for the confusion.
tony-da-tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 09:44 PM   #9
tony-da-tiger
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to tony-da-tiger
Default

and im planning on using the peat more just too teak the water than change the perameters, i just dont want too accidentally use too much.
tony-da-tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 01:59 AM   #10
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Peats vary in acidity and effectivenes , its all very unscientific. Even peat from the same location a couple of feet away can be different. It's best to add a little and check the water and so on. You can't even rely on brand consistency since the sources are highly variable.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 05:29 PM   #11
tony-da-tiger
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to tony-da-tiger
Default

hmm alright thanks i guess ill just experiment.
tony-da-tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undergravel filter : Am I crazy? Ianice Berg General Planted Tank Discussion 5 09-10-2004 09:12 PM
Mod. a H.O.T. Magnum/diatom filter....? fedge Equipment 28 08-30-2004 12:00 PM
Woodshrimps and Diatom filter macbrush Equipment 6 07-21-2004 01:08 PM
How to Prime a Filter anonapersona Equipment 2 02-01-2004 07:47 PM
Peat in the Filter jojomichael General Planted Tank Discussion 4 11-20-2003 08:36 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012