Used 125 needs to be resealed, need help.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY

Old 08-10-2003, 06:05 PM   #1
Jimbojam
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Ok my old 125 that i'm getting ready to put back together looks like the silicone in the corners needs to be stripped and redone. I have never done this before so if anyone has any idea's, techniques, or material ideas. Please let me know. Also the tank never leaked at least yet, but i can see where the silicone is pealing off or gone in some areas. So i think it would be best if i sealed this tank before i put it back together.

The wife would kill me if it leaked!
Thanks Jim
Jimbojam is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2003, 06:07 PM   #2
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (6/100%)
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian

Wow, sounds like a risky project. I would definitely strip all traces of silicone off that tank and carefully re-glue it. Then I'd fill it partway and let it sit outdoors or in a well-drained area in case it spills. 125 gallons of water will never ever completely dry.
Old 08-11-2003, 06:11 PM   #3
digger
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Send a message via ICQ to digger

Make sure you are using aquarium silicone. The stuff for bathrooms has a fungicide in it that is toxic to fish and plants.
digger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2003, 07:34 AM   #4
rdn2
Algae Grower