New to forum and planted tanks. Advise welcome
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 01-09-2013, 07:48 PM   #1
stephenjr
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

New to forum and planted tanks. Advise welcome

Im new to planted aquariums. I have done saltwater for years. I am starting with 150 gallon 48x24x30H. I have flourite mixed with filter sand 50/50 on the mix. will add more flourite as money allows. for lighting I have a single 250watt MH that I salvaged from a salty tank. It now has a 6700k bulb. I will also be installing a pressureized co2 system in the next few weeks. I have a sump with a filter sock and 5 gallons of bio balls. My questions are mainly on lighting. Will the one bulb be ok or should switch to a 4 foot T5 HO fixture? If so, how many bulbs? As for now I have no fish and two bundles of hornwort. Tank is still cycling. Any and all advice is much needed and welcomed. Will post a pic of setup at its current stage.
stephenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-09-2013, 07:58 PM   #2
stephenjr
Algae Grower

Here is a pic. I want to get rid of canopy. I have some mold growing in it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	024.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	64194  

Old 01-10-2013, 04:13 AM   #3
Django
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenjr View Post