Powering a Burkert 6011A
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 04:30 PM   #1
parker679
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 22
Default

Powering a Burkert 6011A


I just purchased a Burkert 6011A from ebay and wanted to be sure I wire it correctly.

The 6011A is 24V DC, 4W.

To power it I found, also on ebay, an AC adapter that outputs 24V DC and 400mA. I just want to be sure that the amperage is enough.

Also, as far as I've read it's just a matter of splicing the solenoid wires onto the plug and I'm good to go, correct?

Thanks!
parker679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2012, 04:36 PM   #2
Seattle_Aquarist
Planted Tank Guru
 
Seattle_Aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (38/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parker679 View Post
I just purchased a Burkert 6011A from ebay and wanted to be sure I wire it correctly.

The 6011A is 24V DC, 4W.

To power it I found, also on ebay, an AC adapter that outputs 24V DC and 400mA. I just want to be sure that the amperage is enough.

Also, as far as I've read it's just a matter of splicing the solenoid wires onto the plug and I'm good to go, correct?

Thanks!
Hi parker679,

The output of the power supply is 9.6 amps so it should meet your power requirement. As for the installation I don't do solenoids so I will leave that part of the question to others.
__________________
Roy
45 Gallon Tall; 96 Watt AH Supply CF; 6700K; & 30 Gallon Long; 2X36 Watt AH Supply CF; Press. CO2; UGF; Heat Treated Montmorillonite Clay
Greater Seattle Aquarium Society (GSAS)

Seattle_Aquarist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:25 PM   #3
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,340
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parker679 View Post
I just purchased a Burkert 6011A from ebay and wanted to be sure I wire it correctly.

The 6011A is 24V DC, 4W.

To power it I found, also on ebay, an AC adapter that outputs 24V DC and 400mA. I just want to be sure that the amperage is enough.

Also, as far as I've read it's just a matter of splicing the solenoid wires onto the plug and I'm good to go, correct?

Thanks!
As mentioned by Seattle_Aquarist, your adapter is fine.

To answer your second question, just take the solenoid wires, strip the insulation off the ends of the wire, do the same for the adapter, and then solder together (you can insulate with heat shrink tubing).

You can be a little more fancy and get a DIN housing for the solenoid as well, but it is not necessary.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:24 PM   #4
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

Just to make sure we're on the same page, you're talking about Evilbay item #320891361633 correct? I ask only because there was another set of 6011A's available through a couple days ago that was 24V *AC*, rather than DC. But it looks like you're reading straight from the label, so it sounds like you're fine (with the adapter you mention).

It comes with the DIN connector that's identical to the one in this how-to thread: http://www.barrreport.com/showthread...-6011-solenoid

Just follow the instructions and ignore the ground connection, and it doesn't matter which socket you screw which wire into (for DC).

Somebody who actually has one of these specific units (I know oldpunk78 does) could provide more feedback.

*edit* or, yeah, you could just splice the wires together. A wire nut would be even easier than soldering.

Last edited by kevmo911; 12-12-2012 at 11:26 PM.. Reason: solder or wire nut as well.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:55 AM   #5
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (87/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,530
Default

6011, 24V DC

Bettatail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:14 PM   #6
parker679
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 22
Default

You guys are amazing, thanks!

I've done aquariums for years but only recently started with trying to properly grow plants; CO2, lighting, ferts, etc. It's great to have a place like this where people quickly reply with helpful answers.

@ Kevmo, that's the exact one I got. I know this site auto blocks evilbay links so I wasn't sure if I was allowed to post item numbers. Based on the picture I assumed it came with the DIN attached and the wires sticking out which is why I figured I'd just splice, heat shrink the individual wires then heat shrink the pair for a nice clean look. Though I guess I could pull the DIN off, remove the wires and attach the adapter directly to the DIN.

@Betta, that's a beautiful rig you have there. I've been lurking here a while, from what I've seen you do great work.

Thank you all for the quick replies.
parker679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:06 PM   #7
oldpunk78
/)ಠ_ಠ(\
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (107/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Anderson, CA
Posts: 5,464
Default

No need to splice/solder/shrink wrap. Just take the din apart. All you have to do is strip the wire ends anduse the little screw down block inside.
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:32 PM   #8
parker679
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpunk78 View Post
No need to splice/solder/shrink wrap. Just take the din apart. All you have to do is strip the wire ends anduse the little screw down block inside.
Great, thanks!
parker679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:02 PM   #9
creekbottom
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 688
Default

I've been trolling e bay for some time looking for a burkert solenoid and this came up. 360506638666

Does the 6011A always come with 1/8 NPT ports? *Yes it does come with 1/8 ports but I can't find if they are NPT.

To power this thing, do I just need a wall wart kind of thing and attach the wires. I would REALLY like a DIN connector, it doesn't look that hard to wire it, I'm just not sure which one to get. Searching ebay, none of the ones that come up for 24V DC look anything like that Barr report link above.

Thanks
creekbottom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:08 PM   #10
oldpunk78
/)ಠ_ಠ(\
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (107/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Anderson, CA
Posts: 5,464
Default

That one mounts to a manifold. You want to pass on it.
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:17 PM   #11
creekbottom
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 688
Default

Ok, thanks. I've been looking since November, missed the 2822 bonanza
creekbottom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:34 PM   #12
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (87/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by creekbottom View Post
Ok, thanks. I've been looking since November, missed the 2822 bonanza
320891361633
good luck
Bettatail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:13 AM   #13
parker679
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 22
Default

Well that purchase fell through, no contact from the seller. I ended up getting the item CreekBottom mentioned before realizing it mounts to a manifold. I purchased a broken 6011 from a member here to swap the bases.

My only question now is how to wire the solenoid since it's DC but has 3 wires. Any thoughts?

My apologies but I created a different post a few days ago with this question because I forgot about this post.
parker679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012