Replacing Power Filter
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 12:39 AM   #1
PuffTheMagicDragon
Algae Grower
 
PuffTheMagicDragon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 5
Default

Replacing Power Filter


Evening...

My 55g was bought used and let's just say the power filter it came with is a little long in the tooth. Long story short, my wife surprised me with a new filter for Christmas (an Aquaclear, with the carbon pack, "bioballs" and sponge.)

I've had both filters running since Boxing day trying to jump-start the new filter. My question for you lovely gents is how long do I need to run the new filter before safely retiring the old one?

I poked around other forums and google searches but I can't seem to find a common consensus on this one.

Thanks!
PuffTheMagicDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2013, 01:39 AM   #2
QQQUUUUAADDD
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 163
Default

This is just me, but I like to run it for at least 4 weeks. I feel this gives enough time to get the BB colony up and running.

Last edited by QQQUUUUAADDD; 01-08-2013 at 02:14 AM.. Reason: adding
QQQUUUUAADDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:53 AM   #3
JEden8
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
JEden8's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 868
Default

I agree with the post above. It's better to be safe than sorry.
__________________
JEden8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:04 AM   #4
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

Or just use the old media in the new filter. Switch some of it out for new stuff every couple weeks.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:10 AM   #5
holoublahee
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 139
Default

Like Quad said, I would run them together for about a month or so to be safe. Then take out the old filter.
holoublahee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012