Aqueon Evolve 8 CO2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 06:32 PM   #1
PRSRocker3390
Wannabe Guru
 
PRSRocker3390's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,349
Default

Aqueon Evolve 8 CO2


Anyone have any good ideas on how to diffuse diy co2 into this tank? It's got the little 2" area in the back of the tank for the pump and other equipment, maybe do something with that? I also have an extra Rio 180 pump on hand that can fit in the back for I figured it wouldn't do any good by diffusing co2 in the back but I like the idea of the least amount of visible equipment. I can use excel for CO2 but I figured that might not be enough alone with higher lighting i've added. Any co2 diffusion ideas on these tanks using a diy co2 setup?
__________________
My 75 Gallon Planted Angelfish Tank Journal
Algae Supporter #1 (BBA) - Rena Filstar #150 (XP3/XP2)
PRSRocker3390 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2012, 07:19 PM   #2
Qwedfg
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Qwedfg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PRSRocker3390 View Post
Anyone have any good ideas on how to diffuse diy co2 into this tank? It's got the little 2" area in the back of the tank for the pump and other equipment, maybe do something with that? I also have an extra Rio 180 pump on hand that can fit in the back for I figured it wouldn't do any good by diffusing co2 in the back but I like the idea of the least amount of visible equipment. I can use excel for CO2 but I figured that might not be enough alone with higher lighting i've added. Any co2 diffusion ideas on these tanks using a diy co2 setup?

I have the aqueon 2 and 4. To diffuse CO2 I took out the pump cut one of the grates off and stuck the end of the co2 line into it. Works like a charm.
Qwedfg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2012, 07:44 PM   #3
PRSRocker3390
Wannabe Guru
 
PRSRocker3390's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,349
Default

That's what I was thinking but I wasn't sure how well it would work. Godd ot know you tried that? Does it make small bubbles all over the tank?
__________________
My 75 Gallon Planted Angelfish Tank Journal
Algae Supporter #1 (BBA) - Rena Filstar #150 (XP3/XP2)
PRSRocker3390 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2012, 08:15 PM   #4
Qwedfg
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Qwedfg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PRSRocker3390 View Post
That's what I was thinking but I wasn't sure how well it would work. Godd ot know you tried that? Does it make small bubbles all over the tank?
I have been using this method for a couple months now. Depending on how much co2 you are injecting you will notice a varying amount of bubbles. ATM I have a ~1 bubble per 8 second bubble count and I rarely will see co2 bubbles. Before I put my shrimp in I was at 1 bps to help the HC gain hold and there was a fair amount of bubbles. I have tried diffusers before and this is honestly the best way to distribute co2 that I have used.
Qwedfg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2012, 03:46 AM   #5
PRSRocker3390
Wannabe Guru
 
PRSRocker3390's Avatar
 
PTrader: (39/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,349
Default

Sounds pretty cool, I'm probably going to go that route. I've done similar with other pumps but wasn't sure the results would be similar with this aqueon pump. Thanks for sharing!
__________________
My 75 Gallon Planted Angelfish Tank Journal
Algae Supporter #1 (BBA) - Rena Filstar #150 (XP3/XP2)
PRSRocker3390 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 05:58 PM   #6
Bolsen27
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Williamstown nj
Posts: 101
Default

The gas going directly into the pump doesn't cause issues with the impeller?
Bolsen27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012