moving plants in a dirted tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 02:47 AM   #1
caoder
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Default

moving plants in a dirted tank?


hi all of you with dirt tanks, mine has been planted for a good while now and i want to move some plants around. i am worried about the disturbed dirt fouling the water. how should i move my plants around safely?

it's dirt with river gravel cap total of about 1.5" deep.
caoder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2013, 03:08 AM   #2
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

Just move very slowly, wiggle, and move a little more. Also do sections at a time not a whole re-scape at once. I would do a section of plants to move, a waterchange, then save the next section for next weeks water change ect.
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 03:28 AM   #3
caoder
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Default

i have vals that sent runners everywhere and i want to move them from the front and remove some of my l. repens. too bad, i hope i dont make mess because both these plants are very well rooted.
caoder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 03:39 AM   #4
apfunk
Algae Grower
 
apfunk's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 26
Default

I have this problem as well. My tank gets extremely cloudy.
apfunk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 03:09 PM   #5
Beer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 316
Default

Try moving the gravel from around the base of the plant and pull the plant up slowly while wiggling slightly. If there is an extensive root system, trim the roots and leave some of it behind if it looks like you are going to make too much of a mess. You may have to trim some of the older leaves to balance the amount of foliage to the reduced root mass. if you are just separating the runners, pruning the tops shouldn't be necessary.
Once you are done, move the gravel back in place and vac the dirt that is on top. A small rigid tube with airline might work better to siphon the dirt without disturbing the gravel. Wave the tube aggressively over the gravel to stir up the loose dirt and siphon it off.
I'd shut the filter down while doing this so the dirt that does get pulled up doesn't get pushed all over the aquarium and cloud everything up. The dirt will settle faster in still water.
Beer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 05:11 PM   #6
Razorworm
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Razorworm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hawthorn Woods IL
Posts: 674
Default

what has worked for me is to wiggle the plant around while pulling it up. I always get to a point where I cant pull more out with out creating a duststorm. I then go around the plant with scisors, cutting the roots well below the surface of the sand cap. The plants come out easily
Razorworm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2013, 12:44 AM   #7
caoder
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Default

thank you all for the replies. i hope this helps others too
caoder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2013, 04:21 AM   #8
mooncon
Algae Grower
 
mooncon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mesquite Texas
Posts: 28
Default

I rescaped mine today made a total mess.The swords and red lotus had massive root systems.When I finished I vacuumed and refilled it has pretty much all settled down now I will have to vacuum one more time to get whats left.
mooncon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012