Does more filtration necassarily mean less algae?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2014, 10:56 PM   #1
jhays79
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: nj
Posts: 356
Default

Does more filtration necassarily mean less algae?


I'm just wondering, if you have heavy filtration and water volume turnover on a tank, is it less likely to get algae of any sorts? say you had 29g sump on a 40 breeder or something similar in size ratio, would algae struggle more to establish in said setup?
jhays79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-12-2014, 11:42 PM   #2
Raymond S.
Wannabe Guru
 
Raymond S.'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hot Springs Ar. 71901
Posts: 1,204
Default

Water volume turn over is related to the size/speed of a pump, not the volume of
a sump. Faster current/flow does seem to hinder algae developement. Fast flowing
streems seldom have any algae. And those aquascape tanks/w high lights in such
short tanks shows that rather well.
But you can only increase it so much before the fish, shrimp and if fast enough even the plants won't be able to tolorate it.
Reading some of the threads on the algae section and looking at those which talk/ask about having algae in one of those aquascape type tanks will also let you know that it
gets to be a rather delicate balancing act as well since they can't just crank up the current as much as they would like to.
Limiting the amount of light is a far better deterent to algae than current and much easier to control.
__________________
The shortest distance between any two points is a straight line...in the opposite direction...
Raymond S. is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2014, 01:34 AM   #3
jhays79
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: nj
Posts: 356
Default

I get what yiur saying, but does filter media surface area play into at all? Like a sump holds way more media and contact area than the a standard HOB
jhays79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2014, 01:44 AM   #4
lauraleellbp
Fresh Fish Freak
 
lauraleellbp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (69/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 22,886
Default

The correlation is indirect.

Biomedia is colonized by N-bacteria, which help break down ammonia before it can fuel algae blooms. In a planted tank, the plants themselves provide the bulk of the biofiltration in a tank, between the leaves and stems also providing a surface for N-bacteria to colonize and their own absorption of ammonia to provide the nitrogen they need for photosynthesis.

One of the reasons I advocate good flow in a tank is to help prevent dead spots. The plants also break up water circulation through a tank, which can lead to even more dead spots than in most non-planted aquariums. Dead spots accumulate debris, and decaying debris building also tends to lead to algae issues.

I usually encourage people to incorporate as much mechanical filtration in their tanks as possible, as in a heavily planted tank the plants themselves can carry the bulk of the biological and chemical filtration. Plants produce TONS of debris though- and lots of mechanical filtration can help reduce the amount of manual cleaning (pruning, siphoning, etc) that it takes us to remove all that debris before it becomes algae food. Just have to clean the filters.
__________________
lauraleellbp is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2014, 01:12 PM   #5
jhays79
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: nj
Posts: 356
Default

i hear ya, thanks for the great insight. I'm going to add a couple more smaller powerheads to my 55g to increase the flow a bit more. With it's length, i'm sure there are some dead spots which could use some current.
jhays79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 11:22 AM   #6
manlyfan76
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 106
Default

a rolling stone gathers no moss
__________________
Faux Fashion Statement
manlyfan76 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 12:51 PM   #7
Charlest
Planted Member
 
Charlest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Valley City, Utah
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond S. View Post
Water volume turn over is related to the size/speed of a pump, not the volume of
a sump. Faster current/flow does seem to hinder algae developement. Fast flowing
streems seldom have any algae. And those aquascape tanks/w high lights in such
short tanks shows that rather well.
But you can only increase it so much before the fish, shrimp and if fast enough even the plants won't be able to tolorate it.
Reading some of the threads on the algae section and looking at those which talk/ask about having algae in one of those aquascape type tanks will also let you know that it
gets to be a rather delicate balancing act as well since they can't just crank up the current as much as they would like to.
Limiting the amount of light is a far better deterent to algae than current and much easier to control.
This is correct and incorrect about the flow you can pump as much out flow as you would like without hindering plants fish or substrate. The bigger your out put is the slower the flow. I once had a 55 with a sump pushing 750 gph but my out take thingamabob was about 7 inches in diameter. That being said I never had a spot of algea once in that tank. My conclusion is organics in the water had no place to hide and a sump takes care of that 90% more effectively than any canister Or hob will ever push. But you end up with another problem the biomedia is so effective the tank can become nutrient deficient quickly if your not monitoring your dosing. Deficiencys also result in algea.

Sent from my LG-D500 using Tapatalk
Charlest is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012