How can I still have BBA
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2015, 01:32 PM   #1
Aquaman55g
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 116
Default

How can I still have BBA


Even though there is less of it now I have been fighting BBA for some time and cannot figure out why it is still present and slowing growing. I have a 125 gallon medium planted set up with a Fluval FX6 as well as a Hydor Pro 600 for filtration. I also have 2 circulation pumps so along with these 2 filters I have really good water flow around the whole tank. I also recently purchased and installed a solid CO2 reactor on the return hose of the Hydor Pro 600 canister filter so the CO2 is being dissolved nearly 100% in the water with no bubbles. The colors on my Cal-aqua 2 bowl CO2 drop checker are just about the same. For lighting I have 2 - 36" Finnex Ray 2 LED fixtures on the rear portion of the tank and in the front I have a 48" Finnex Planted Plus LED fixture. All three light fixtures are suspended 30" above the substrate. I also try to be good about weekly water changes of 40% to 50%. The only thing I have not been doing is fert dosing for now.
The gravel has some BBA along with various plants and I see new BBA growing in small tufts on the glass. What am I missing or what am I doing wrong? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks to all responding members.
Aquaman55g is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2015, 01:40 PM   #2
BBradbury
Wannabe Guru
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,735
Default Controlling Algae

Hello Aqua...

Algae is controlled by fast growing stem plants that use up excess nutrients in the tank water. Anacharis is one of the best. Get some individual stems of this plant at the local pet store and drop them into the tank. It grows best floating close to the light source and doesn't require planting in the substrate. The larger it gets, the more nutrients it uses. It also gives off a mild toxin that most forms of algae don't tolerate.

This is the first plant that goes into my planted tanks.

B
__________________
"Fear not my child, just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2015, 01:50 PM   #3
roadmaster
Planted Tank Guru
 
roadmaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri united states
Posts: 3,194
Default

I generally harass the stuff whenever it appears in my tank's.
Pull it off wood,rock's,pull it out of substrate,clean it from glass,spray bar's,heater's,etc.
Keep filter material clean monthly.
I personally believe it is tied to maybe excess organic matter and have found that the above measures work for me.
Eventually,the stuff get's tired of trying to get a hold in my tank's.
Volumes of thread's abound about possible causes in high energy tank's,low energy tank's,low flow,high flow,etc.
Only can share what work's for me.
roadmaster is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2015, 03:16 PM   #4
Aquaman55g
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks BBradbury and roadmaster,

I will try your suggestions and see if they help. I am planning to move this tank to a different location in my mancave this fall so a thorough cleaning will certainly take place. I am also hoping kind of a fresh start will allow me to get a handle on BBA if it rears its ugly head in the future. Thanks again.
Aquaman55g is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2015, 09:56 PM   #5
Doppelgaenger
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 125
Default

pull out your hardscapes and steam them when you get a chance, always good to sterilize things so that you only have spores in the water column, then you can get rid of them by water changes
Doppelgaenger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2015, 02:57 AM   #6
Aquaman55g
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks D.... Hadn't thought about that. Wish I could do the same to some affected portions of my Eco complete substrate but I am sure that steaming process would kill off any beneficial bacteria that has built up over time>
Aquaman55g is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Your Location. As precise as you feel comfortable with.
Security Question
While balancing on a piece of wood, two inches by four inches known as a 2x4, John and his friend Sally both spotted a dalmatian inside of a truck with sirens. The animal with John and Sally is a _ _ _?
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012