co2 bps ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 10:16 AM   #1
youdontknowme
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: earth
Posts: 63
Default

co2 bps ?


how many bubbles per second do you need for lets say to carpet hairgrass/glosso / HC ?
LETS say i keep my surface agitation at the minimum and using ceramic glass diffuser ( what diffuser do you suggest ? ) , and 2x54W single reflector for each bulb (gieseman powerchrome aquaflora and gieseman powerchrome midday) . pressurized co2

for 120gallon planted tank.
youdontknowme is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2013, 01:54 PM   #2
mrkookm
Wannabe Guru
 
mrkookm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by youdontknowme View Post
how many bubbles per second do you need for lets say to carpet hairgrass/glosso / HC ?
LETS say i keep my surface agitation at the minimum and using ceramic glass diffuser ( what diffuser do you suggest ? ) , and 2x54W single reflector for each bulb (gieseman powerchrome aquaflora and gieseman powerchrome midday) . pressurized co2

for 120gallon planted tank.
Not a easy question due to the size of the tank, not knowing you setup filtration wise and because different Co2 diffusion methods impact affect the visual 'bps' count.

I suggest using a drop checker to help you visually achieve your goal. Mount it in the opposite side of your tank relative to the Co2 diffuser and mount it ~6in off the substrate. Adjust your bps rate with the diffuser attached and set for 3~4 sec and work your way up/down from there using your drop checker as reference.
__________________



The Junkie
mrkookm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 06:00 PM   #3
82nd_Airborne
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 203
Default

I am carpeting dhg in my shrimp tank with no co2. Its taking it longer than i imagine it would with co2, but since its only a 3g shrimp tank, its doing nicely. In other woods, i think you could carpet it easily with low co2 if your other factors are in line.
82nd_Airborne is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012