Zero Nitrates? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 02:27 AM   #16
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 8,320
Default

Plants remove nitrogen in all 3 of the forms we test for in aquariums.
Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate.

When the amount of nitrogen entering the tank is low, the plants sure can remove it all.

Fish food is an OK source in a low tech, high fish load tank, but with low stocking (8 xips in a 40 gallon, or most shrimp tanks) all the food that you are willing to add is not enough.

Which Flourish product are you using?
Seachem uses the name 'Flourish' for N, P, K, Trace, Comprehensive, Iron and Excel.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2013, 02:46 AM   #17
laqu
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
laqu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 494
Default

all of the above...

if i add all the water in all 5 tanks i get 13 gallons - substrate, plants, and decor so it's not a big deal to go liquid... though i MUST FIND ROOT TABS... my crypts on one side of the tank (the side with more shrimp sand) NEED THEM...
__________________
1 6 gallon
1 2 gallon 8" cube
1 10 gallon endlers tank
1 betta

Here they are http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/al...p?albumid=9625

6 gallon journal
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...208&highlight=


you can see more photos here the 4 8" cubes are on flicker... will get to their journal at some point (they are fun as they change often)
http://www.flickr.com/photos/laq/


webdesign: www.littleowlwebdesign.com
laqu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 03:32 AM   #18
rodcuda
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
rodcuda's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 843
Default

I have a 1 gallon goldfish bowl with 1 goldfish and with some floating hornwort and najas grass the Nitrates stay near zero between water changes, even though I feed every day. A Betta bowl is the same way, I was quite surprised the Nitrates stay so low.
__________________
Rod
rodcuda is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 12:37 PM   #19
jhays79
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: nj
Posts: 441
Default

I just bought those fancier bottles of Seachem nitrogen and potassium. They're called aquavitro by Seachem. They were the same price as the reg Seachem but the bottles were a few ounces larger.
jhays79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2013, 09:43 PM   #20
jhays79
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: nj
Posts: 441
Default

After getting on a dosing regime I think I've hot my tank pretty balanced. I've been dosing N P K, potassium, iron, and micro ferts. I cut the light back a bit, and added some DIY co2. The plants are growing great, two new Anubias leaves and a. All around more lush look to the plants, especially the swords. Here's a pic I snapped.
jhays79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2013, 02:41 AM   #21
malloy85
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United states
Posts: 39
Default

I've been running a dirt tank with a 3mm inert gravel cap for 3 years and I can tell you that you getting readable nitrates in your tank is very unlikely. Sounds weird? allow me to explain. My initial switch to dirt was due to algae problems. I had them all and in most cases nitrates were an ingredient or contributing factor and after a lot of stress and near giving up I set up a high tech dirt tank. For three years every nutrafin and api test kit I bought recorded 0 nitrates. And for 3 years no algae.

I have no scientific data to back up the following but I'm gonna say with a small amount of confidence that dirt has some type of binding effect when it comes to nitrate in particular. My stocking went up while using dirt and I once went two months without a water change and my nitrates remained at zero.

Make no mistake there were/are nitrates in the tank but my theory is they were bound to the soil because my plants grew relentlessly with no measurable nitrate in the water column.

Just my two cents...
malloy85 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012