How much Aqua Soil - Power Sand - Powder?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 02:54 PM   #1
carpoxylon
Algae Grower
 
carpoxylon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 37
Default

How much Aqua Soil - Power Sand - Powder?


I've been to adgshop.com and found their recommendations for how much Power Sand, Aqua soil, and top layer powder but I find the amounts to be excessive compared to others recommendations. (see attached capture) I don't want to over purchase so as a last effort I am asking for your recommendations for my 55 gallon tank.

I plan on having an average of 2 to 3 inches of total substrate. I've read the Power Sand Special is good to use but wonder how it compares to plain old Peat Moss? Is it worth the money?

Also, I've read the powder finish is nice to have. How thick does it need to be?

Thanks!
Attached Images
 
carpoxylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2012, 03:25 PM   #2
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Those recommendations are dead on including a slope. I can only tell you from my experience that the full Ada substrate system is incredible


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:30 PM   #3
Jeffww
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,249
Default

Dont bothet with power sand or powder
Jeffww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 04:19 PM   #4
freph
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 2,247
Default

It's really a great system. Power Sand just employs the use of larger sized porous particles to facilitate better water movement within the substrate. Roots grow into it and oxygenate it as well so the bacteria are good to go. I personally use it in my setups but some people don't care for it.
__________________
20L - Decommissioned Mini M - Decommissioned
freph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 04:24 PM   #5
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

If you are planting HC powder sand makes a huge difference. I have planted both with power sand and no powers and, and I have seen a big difference, if you can afford the full system go for it, but you will happy either way


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:22 AM   #6
carpoxylon
Algae Grower
 
carpoxylon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 37
Default Thanks!

I appreciate your recommendations. It seems no matter which products of their system I decide to use, I will be happy. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!
__________________
My 55
Non CO2
2 w/g, 6700k, AH Supply(8h)
carpoxylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012