ADA amazonia. Is it worth it?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2013, 09:11 PM   #1
mjhanna21
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Farnhamville, ia
Posts: 80
Default

ADA amazonia. Is it worth it?


I am setting up a new tank for taiwan bees and i am considering using ADA amazonia aqua soil. The tank i am using already has a flourite and eco complete mix so would it be worth it to spend the money and change it? If so, do you use 100% aqua soil or should it be mixed. I have also read this soil can cause ammonia spikes. Has anyone had any experience with this?
mjhanna21 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-06-2013, 09:15 PM   #2
Charrr89
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Charrr89's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Whitmore, Hawaii
Posts: 785
Default

I heard Amazonia isn't that great from shrimp, my shrimp seem to like it. I thi k it's all perso al opinion
__________________

Finnex member #14
Charrr89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2013, 09:30 PM   #3
PunknDestroy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 339
Default

ADA Amazonia removes the need to dirt your tank. It contains nutrients in it already which helps with plant growth. Yes it does cause ammonia spikes, but a planted tank will handle most of it. Make sure to cycle the tank,properly before adding fish
PunknDestroy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2013, 10:26 PM   #4
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (109/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,232
Default

Depends on your water conditions most use it to buffer water down to a lower ph. I am switching all my tanks from akadam or amazonia to inert pool filter sand because my ro water is 5.8-6.2 ph

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2013, 10:58 PM   #5
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (441/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,564
Default

If you're keeping Taiwan Bees and don't have a lot of experience with them, you'll definitely want to use a buffering substrate like Aquasoil just for the stability.

And you'll want to use only Aquasoil - remove the current substrate, add your new Aquasoil and run the tank for 4-6 weeks.

You'll also likely need to use RO/DI water that is remineralized with a shrimp-specific product.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 12:50 AM   #6
Lexinverts
Maestro of Invertology
 
Lexinverts's Avatar
 
PTrader: (42/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbarbee54 View Post
Depends on your water conditions most use it to buffer water down to a lower ph. I am switching all my tanks from akadam or amazonia to inert pool filter sand because my ro water is 5.8-6.2 ph

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
Your RO water comes out of the filter with a low pH, but it won't stay that way if you don't have a substrate like Amazonia to keep it low.

RO water comes out with a low pH because the RO process forces CO2 to dissolve in the water. But when this CO2 leaves solution, you will go back up to 7, and that is why almost all of us use an active substrate.
__________________
"Science is like a blabbermouth who ruins a movie by telling you how it ends. Well I say that there are some things we don't want to know. Important things!" Ned Flanders

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=338362
Lexinverts is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 12:53 AM   #7
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,364
Default

Yes. The only bad part is that it leeches a lot of ammonia in the beginning.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 12:54 AM   #8
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (109/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,232
Default

I have tested mine with a airstone and agitation never gets higher than 6.2. Winter never above 5.8. I have been testing for the past year in 5 gallon buckets with pool filter sand in them

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 12:55 AM   #9
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (441/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,564
Default

It's only a bad thing if you're not familiar with keeping sensitive shrimp.

Most people using it in a shrimp tank are keeping sensitive critters like Taiwan Bees or Crystals. That means they'll be doing a fishless cycle anyway. The ammonia provided by the substrate accomplishes that. Also allows the tank to run 4-6 weeks to grow necessary biofilm for shrimp success.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyWithTheFish View Post
Yes. The only bad part is that it leeches a lot of ammonia in the beginning.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 01:19 AM   #10
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
It's only a bad thing if you're not familiar with keeping sensitive shrimp.

Most people using it in a shrimp tank are keeping sensitive critters like Taiwan Bees or Crystals. That means they'll be doing a fishless cycle anyway. The ammonia provided by the substrate accomplishes that. Also allows the tank to run 4-6 weeks to grow necessary biofilm for shrimp success.
Sometimes it takes longer than it would a cycle. Mine didn't stop until over 2 months in.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 01:19 AM   #11
Lexinverts
Maestro of Invertology
 
Lexinverts's Avatar
 
PTrader: (42/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbarbee54 View Post
I have tested mine with a airstone and agitation never gets higher than 6.2. Winter never above 5.8. I have been testing for the past year in 5 gallon buckets with pool filter sand in them

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
When you remineralize, the pH should go up if you don't have an active substrate.

Another thing to remember is that it is difficult to get an accurate pH reading when your conductance is zero.

I'm surprised your pH was steady with aeration....how did you measure pH?
__________________
"Science is like a blabbermouth who ruins a movie by telling you how it ends. Well I say that there are some things we don't want to know. Important things!" Ned Flanders

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=338362
Lexinverts is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 01:41 AM   #12
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (109/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,232
Default

I keep mts in the sand and feed it every other day with a algae waffer

So i get 2.5 gallins of my ro and run a air stone in it for 24 hours. Then remineralize to 150 and change the water. Bucket has a in bucket filter and airstone in it. I test with my sms122 and with a hydro ph meter. Have also done the test tube kits same readings

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 01:44 AM   #13
Puddles
Suspended
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 732
Default

Amazonia works great. It doesn't have random ammonia spikes, it just leeches ammonia at the beginning for 6-8 weeks. Totally worth it if you are keeping higher end shrimp in my opinion.


Sent from my IPad using magic
Puddles is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 03:17 AM   #14
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (441/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,564
Default

That's a good thing for a shrimp tank.

Don't want to be putting expensive, sensitive shrimp into a tank that isn't mature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyWithTheFish View Post
Sometimes it takes longer than it would a cycle. Mine didn't stop until over 2 months in.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 03:47 AM   #15
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Yes worth it. Wait 2 months before putting shrimps in.
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012