Red clay and water color...
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 09:36 AM   #1
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

Red clay and water color...


This is the clay I used:

http://www.amaco.com/shop/product-33...tery-clay.html



I mixed and squished and stirred it into about 60lbs of substrate... now I'm scared because the water turned into a nice bright muddy-red color....

Like this:

I tried a test-batch and even with a lot of rinsing, it still turns the water cloudy. Will this be a problem once it's capped? Am I worrying unnecessarily?
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2012, 11:53 AM   #2
lochaber
Planted Tank Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2,165
Default

do you just have one layer of substrate that you mixed this into, or did you mix it into some mix of substrate, and then cap that substrate with sand/gravel?

clays tend to be made of incredibly fine particles, and will take much longer to settle out of a water column (why lake beds, mid ocean, etc. bottoms tend to form shale deposits - the only stuff that can make it out that far is fine grained clays, etc.)

If you don't have it capped, I'd suggest adding a cap. and then stuffing some floss in your filter to pull out the suspendeds.

If it's already capped, *shrugs* I dunno, try the floss/filter thing, and see if that helps?
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 02:27 PM   #3
Lurch98
Algae Grower
 
Lurch98's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 135
Default

Your cap will help keep it out of the water column in normal day to day use. If you have a high clay volume in your substrate, take care when uprooting/moving plants, it'll make a terrible mess. Some folks have recommended clipping plants and leaving the roots, which work for stem plants, but not for things like crypts or lotuses.

Water changes and filter floss will help clean the water out when it does get cloudy. It'll settle out eventually. The more cap, the less mess. Good luck! Plants will love the iron from the clay.
Lurch98 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 03:40 PM   #4
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,990
Default

Re-post I did not understand the OP. Are you making MTS? Or, are you using MG?

When I build MTS, all rinsing is done before clay, potash, dolomite etc are added. The finished dirt goes in the tank and gets caped, then the tank is planted & filled. No problems occur that way.

Last edited by DogFish; 12-26-2012 at 03:31 AM.. Reason: content
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 04:23 PM   #5
Imi Statue
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Imi Statue's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monroe WA
Posts: 369
Default

This will help with your current problem and give you a way to polish the water after any water changes or if you disturb the gravel at all.

http://www.aquariumguys.com/diatomfi...FcN_Qgod2zAA6g and http://www.aquariumguys.com/diatompowder.html

Just look for the best price online, and get some diatomaceous earth I usually buy the 5 lbs bag but you can go smaller if you like.

Also when setting it up you will either have to use a tupperware in the tank just below the water surface with both intake and output tubes placed into it so the Diatoms can collect to the bag in the filter, then when the tupperware has no more cloudiness and all diatoms are sucked up by the filter remove the container without turning the filter off and let it run.

Usually takes a few hours depending on tank size and how clogged the filter gets.

I've been using these filters for years as they take anything down to 1 micron in size out of the water(that's 1 millionth of and inch) so anything bigger than that can be removed.
Imi Statue is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 09:41 PM   #6
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

Hi everyone,

Thank you for the suggestions and help! I mixed 5lbs of clay into 80lbs of substrate. It's about half of what I'll be putting into my 110G tank. The other half will be a cap, so it sounds like it will be less of an issue than I think.
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 01:01 AM   #7
Freeasabird
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
Default

Just to clarify, did you not cap it yet? That would be a definite reason why your water is all messed up.
Freeasabird is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 06:17 PM   #8
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeasabird View Post
Just to clarify, did you not cap it yet? That would be a definite reason why your water is all messed up.
Hi, sorry that my original post wasn't very clear. I am putting a cap on the red clay, but in my test container I didn't do that. I just finished putting everything into the tank (border of substrate, red clay material inside, then cap). Will be adding water soon-ish so I'll update on how it goes then

Shaun
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 01:38 AM   #9
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

Added about 1/3 of the water today and the cap is holding so far... no water problems. I haven't started planting yet though, so I imagine that will stir a little muck up but it shouldn't be too bad.
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 01:48 AM   #10
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l8nite View Post
Added about 1/3 of the water today and the cap is holding so far... no water problems. I haven't started planting yet though, so I imagine that will stir a little muck up but it shouldn't be too bad.
I'd suggest you drain down the tank to the CAP. Better drain bellow the cap. To do that use you syphon hose in a back corner.

Then plant and fill the tank. More work yes, but your tank will be much cleaner after the planting.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 08:22 AM   #11
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

Thanks for the tip. I did drop the water level way down when doing the large majority of my planting. It turned out pretty nice

l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 01:12 PM   #12
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,990
Default

Nice! Looking forward to updates when it fills in.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012