Best Pre-filter for HOB - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 03:05 AM   #16
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,480
Default

Oh and I forgot one more thing - you can chain more than one of them together if needed.
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2012, 11:11 AM   #17
jhays79
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: nj
Posts: 439
Default

I'm confused, where are you guys using the pre filters? All the filters on my hang on back filters are rectangular?
jhays79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:23 PM   #18
fermentedhiker
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Warren, Maine
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhays79 View Post
I'm confused, where are you guys using the pre filters? All the filters on my hang on back filters are rectangular?
They go over the intake strainer of the HOB so they are inside the tank, not inside the HOB.
__________________
It was impossible to get a conversation going, everybody was talking too much.
Yogi Berra
fermentedhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 01:05 PM   #19
jhays79
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: nj
Posts: 439
Default

That's what I was thinking, I might have to pick some up and give it a try!
jhays79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 02:28 AM   #20
laqu
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
laqu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 493
Default

i use prefilters on all my tanks... yes the fluval keep your media cleaner... and if you have shrimp they LOVE eating the stuff on them and in my shrimp tanks i never have to clean them... i use the corse stuff in my betta tanks and the filter media is WAY dirtier.. but as they are small tanks i wanted a smaller pre filter...

what SS pre filter are you using? i like the slim lines of them SO much better!
laqu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:40 PM   #21
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,919
Default

Think about the flow of water, and follow the debris.

Use the coarser media first, then the finer.

I use a coarse sponge, purchased for a large pond filter then cut to size over the intake of my larger filters. I use Aquaclear filter sponges over the intake of smaller filters.
This means the first mechanical filter in the system is the largest cell size.

Inside the filter the mechanical media will be medium and finer. This keeps them all in order so the debris is filtered out in a way that keeps all the media in use, and it usually all plugs up about at the same rate.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012