Adding substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 10:06 PM   #1
The Dude
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St. Pete Fl
Posts: 726
Default

Adding substrate?


My shrimp tank has a shallow mixture of potting soil, Eco Complete, and Floramax. I'd like to cover it with black sand. Can I clean the black sand and add it to one area and slowly spread it to the tank with the shrimp still inside and everything running??
__________________
Fraternity of Dirt
Just because its dirt doesn't make it low tech
Member #13

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...des-tanks.html
The Dude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2012, 01:08 AM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,392
Default

You probably can. I would rinse it really well. Then put it in the tank in a way that you are not dumping it through the water.
One way is to put the sand in a cup and pour it out where you want it, then spread it that last bit.
Another way is to use a tube, like a section of PVC pipe to guide the sand to where you want it. Pouring it through the tube a little at a time.

Stop at any point the water is getting cloudy, and add more after it clears.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 01:45 AM   #3
The Dude
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St. Pete Fl
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
You probably can. I would rinse it really well. Then put it in the tank in a way that you are not dumping it through the water.
One way is to put the sand in a cup and pour it out where you want it, then spread it that last bit.
Another way is to use a tube, like a section of PVC pipe to guide the sand to where you want it. Pouring it through the tube a little at a time.

Stop at any point the water is getting cloudy, and add more after it clears.
Thank you very much for the advice. I really appreciate it
__________________
Fraternity of Dirt
Just because its dirt doesn't make it low tech
Member #13

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...des-tanks.html
The Dude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 08:19 AM   #4
R.sok
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wa state
Posts: 359
Default

You can get one of those plastic funnels with the long hose & use that
R.sok is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012