Sand capped with fluorite (plant mix)?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 08:03 PM   #1
bbroush
Algae Grower
 
bbroush's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 64
Default

Sand capped with fluorite (plant mix)?


Is this a really stupid idea? I know I'm new in the hobby, but I feel like it's worth asking. So I have some left over fluorite from another tank that I set up and I was thinking of adding some more depth to my substrate in my 20 gallon tall, low tech tank. It's heavily planted and growing very well and the substrate is a mix of a black and white sand from my lfs and Eco complete (leftover from a friend). the depth is about 1.5-2" in front and as deep as 2-3" in back. my only issue is that I really don't want to disturb my whole tank by removing all my plants and fish and redoing everything. So this may be a dumb question but can I cap my sand with the fluorite? Or is that a bad idea? I want to use the fluorite and it's not enough on it's own to be deep enough. I know this might be a dumb idea but I heard someone mention they'd capped sand in the low tech forum and was hoping for a response.
bbroush is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2012, 04:52 PM   #2
bbroush
Algae Grower
 
bbroush's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 64
Default

Bump
bbroush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 03:30 AM   #3
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

Post the best picture of your sand substrate and flourite next to each other.

I would use thin (<0.5in) substrate if sand is finer than flourite. Otherwise 1:1: proportion would be OK, to avoid anaerobic issues and gravel siphoning it up accidentally.
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 04:07 AM   #4
bbroush
Algae Grower
 
bbroush's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 64
Default

I'm actually away for the holidays this week. But the sand is definitely a larger grain, but not as large as the fluorite. So knowing about the potential of anaerobic pockets makes me glad I brought this up, so only a .5" layer? I definitely have a good population of Malaysian trumpet snails aerating the sand now. I don't see why that would change with a fluorite cap.
bbroush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 04:50 PM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,264
Default

MTS will work through the flourite cap. I would add it in shallow layers, perhaps just in drifts or patches. See it you like the more natural look.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 04:56 PM   #6
bbroush
Algae Grower
 
bbroush's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 64
Default

Great idea. Thanks everyone! If I add it like that would I have to take out all my plants?
bbroush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:05 PM   #7
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,264
Default

No. Aquatic plants are not like land plants. They do not mind the substrate getting a little deeper around the stems. Do not bury the smallest plants, like ground cover plants, of course.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:42 PM   #8
bbroush
Algae Grower
 
bbroush's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 64
Default

Okay, so my dwarf sag and small crypts I need to be careful of? That's good to know. Thanks for your help! And Merry Christmas!
bbroush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 12:25 AM   #9
FlyingHellFish
Wannabe Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,881
Default

I would think the flourite on top of the sand will eventually go into the bottom. MTS? I don't think you can add that in a tank that is already done up. Wouldn't that just dissolve? You need to have the MTS on the bottom and then cap the flourite.
FlyingHellFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 12:55 AM   #10
bbroush
Algae Grower
 
bbroush's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 64
Default

Sorry, the snail, not the soil
bbroush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012