anyone use a Reactor 1000 by Aquamedic, any good? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2003, 08:41 AM   #16
Robert H
Planted Tank Guru
 
Robert H's Avatar
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default

I have a customer that has the reactor 1000 running on a 30 gallon tank. It is designed to run on large aquariums, and the flow rate is what can make it rather tricky on small aquariums.

You have two of them Doomer? You must be real happy with them.
__________________
Robert Paul Hudson
RAOK Club #1
Kindness like love is unconditional
Robert H is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2003, 12:17 PM   #17
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

One is on my 75 gal. and the other is on my 250 gal.

I originally started out with a reactor 500 on the 75 gal. but found that it constantly leaked co2 bubbles and was an eye sore to boot. I replaced it with a 1000 which mounts externally and all is well.

Dunno about using one on a smaller tank but it seems like it would work ok but then again, maybe not.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 04:11 AM   #18
Schala
Algae Grower
 
Schala's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

Does anyone have trouble connecting tubing to this reactor? The tubing that came with my filter is too big. I got a some new tubing but it's still a little big.

I figure I'll just silicon it on, but I thought I'd get some input first.
__________________
75 gallon Rena XP3, 3WPG, 100% Flourite, Pressurized CO2, South American Biotope
Schala is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 01:13 PM   #19
Guttboy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Guttboy
Default

Schala...

IMO DONT silicone it! You can go to Home Depot or Lowes and get a hose clamp. The ones that allow you to tighten it with a screwdriver kind. I have one on the top of the filter and the bottom where the main inlet and outlet hoses work. If you use silicone it will tend to make a bad seal in my opinion. I have used this setup many times in my reef tank and it works wonderfully if you need to attach a hose.

Mike
__________________
Mike
100 Gal Planted, two Filstar XP3, Milwaukee SMS 122 pH controller, Milwaukee reg/bubble, compressed CO2, reactor 1000, 7 WCMM, 12 Ottos, 14 neons, 1 SAE, 3 German blue rams, 2 Florida Flag Fish

10 Gallon...20 Endler's live bearers planted, peat/kitty litter/sand substrate

15 Gallon...Just Schultz Aquatic Plant soil
Guttboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 05:31 PM   #20
Schala
Algae Grower
 
Schala's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

I have some hose clamps that came with my XP3, but even with those around the filter tube, it still slips off the reactor.

I'll go to Lowes or Home Depot. Hopefully they have some smaller/tighter ones?
__________________
75 gallon Rena XP3, 3WPG, 100% Flourite, Pressurized CO2, South American Biotope
Schala is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 05:58 PM   #21
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

How much bigger are the tubes Schala?

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 06:45 PM   #22
Schala
Algae Grower
 
Schala's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

Hmm.. I don't know exactly. The tube falls off if I tip the reactor over. If I look through the tube, I can see all the way around the reactor's inlet.

I do have some tube I bought last night. It's 7/8" diameter inside and 3/4" outside, I think. It fits the reactor more snugly, but I'm worried about using it since it's a thiner tube compared to the thick plastic on the filter's tube. Do you think it would be okay to use as filter tube? Is there a reason why filter tube has such thick plastic?

Guttboy, what size clamps did you use to hold the tube on?
__________________
75 gallon Rena XP3, 3WPG, 100% Flourite, Pressurized CO2, South American Biotope
Schala is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 08:45 PM   #23
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

I sent you a PM. 8)
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 08:47 PM   #24
Schala
Algae Grower
 
Schala's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

Thank you sooo much!
My plants get here tomorrow, so I need to get all this set up correctly tonight!
__________________
75 gallon Rena XP3, 3WPG, 100% Flourite, Pressurized CO2, South American Biotope
Schala is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2003, 11:58 PM   #25
Guttboy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Guttboy
Default

Ok,

I am using the standard Filstar tube...and I have a hose clamp on each...you really cant use the supplied filstar ones...at least I could not....

The size I use is....

Worm Gear Clamps Stainless steel
Gold Seal
Range: 7/16 - 29/32

Anyhow that is what was written on the bag. Hope that helps!

Good Luck

Mike
__________________
Mike
100 Gal Planted, two Filstar XP3, Milwaukee SMS 122 pH controller, Milwaukee reg/bubble, compressed CO2, reactor 1000, 7 WCMM, 12 Ottos, 14 neons, 1 SAE, 3 German blue rams, 2 Florida Flag Fish

10 Gallon...20 Endler's live bearers planted, peat/kitty litter/sand substrate

15 Gallon...Just Schultz Aquatic Plant soil
Guttboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2003, 12:04 AM   #26
Schala
Algae Grower
 
Schala's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

Thanks to you too, Guttboy.

Now I know what to look for when I head out to the store. And if it doesn't work, I know who to blame. J/K
__________________
75 gallon Rena XP3, 3WPG, 100% Flourite, Pressurized CO2, South American Biotope
Schala is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2003, 03:53 PM   #27
Schala
Algae Grower
 
Schala's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

Could someone please help me? I got the reactor all hooked up, but I can't stop water from flowing out of the CO2 intake. I'm using a milwaukee regulator and apparantly it doesn't have a check valve because the bubble counter fills up with water.

I need this set up. Someone please reply ASAP.

Thanks in advance
__________________
75 gallon Rena XP3, 3WPG, 100% Flourite, Pressurized CO2, South American Biotope
Schala is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2003, 04:30 PM   #28
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Don't worry too much about the bubble counter filling with water, its supposed to have fluid inside. Start the CO2 flowing so that you'll have positive pressure in the co2 line. You should probably get a check valve but you can go without one for now. A photo or description of your co2 setup might help. Do you have a ph controller?
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2003, 04:32 PM   #29
Schala
Algae Grower
 
Schala's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

I don't have my PH Controller yet. Within a few seconds, the bubble counter fills completely with water and overflows onto the floor.

I suppose I'll go see if I can find a check valve small enough.

Any other suggestions?
__________________
75 gallon Rena XP3, 3WPG, 100% Flourite, Pressurized CO2, South American Biotope
Schala is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2003, 04:40 PM   #30
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

You don't need the controller to start the co2, just plug in the solenoid and the valve will open. If the your co2 isn't connected yet just plug or kink the co2 hose coming from the top of the reactor. You can kink it and hold it kinked with a clothes pin or something. If the hose is too stiff to kink just plug it with something that'll fit in the hose. :?
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
millennium 3000 filters any good? LaZy_JoKeR Equipment 1 09-25-2004 06:49 PM
Info on Good Books? Darrell General Planted Tank Discussion 11 09-02-2004 01:02 AM
Is this good business? aychamo The Lounge & Introductions 9 07-13-2004 07:42 AM
Planted Tank Chat Transcripts! KyleT General Planted Tank Discussion 0 02-26-2004 09:20 PM
Dentrification - Good, bad or indifferent? Minders General Planted Tank Discussion 14 08-05-2003 09:48 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012