HELP! High ph
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 09:25 PM   #1
Marmalade07
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
Default

HELP! High ph


I have a rio 180 very well planted. My ph is rising and I can't stop it. It's jumped from 7.0 to 8.5 in 6 days! Any ideas?
My kh - 3dkh
Gh - 2dkg
Oxygen - 5mg/l

How can my ph be 8.5 ?


Substrate is
Onyx sand bottom layer
Eco conpleat black middle layer
And ADA Amazonia soil.

I though it maybe the sand but seachem says its only increases the kh.
Marmalade07 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 09:29 PM   #2
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

How new is this tank?
__________________
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 09:40 PM   #3
Marmalade07
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
Default

Around 8 weeks
Marmalade07 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 10:33 PM   #4
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,184
Default

Is there any stones / decorations in the tank?
Also, gH is always > kH
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 04:13 AM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,960
Default

Put some of the substrate in a glass with some tap water, nothing else and see what it does.

You can do water changes to keep it down, but it will keep creeping up if it is something in the tank.

GH and KH are not the same thing, and either can be higher or lower than the other.
GH tests for calcium and magnesium.
KH tests for carbonates.
In nature they are often found together, calcium carbonate and magnesium carbonate are limestone and many related minerals. Most of these dissolve pretty easily in water, so the water has more or less calcium or magnesium (depending on the parent rock) and carbonate.

However it is entirely possible to have any of those materials by themselves, or in combination with other things that are not tested by the regular aquarium tests.

Rising KH almost always makes the pH rise. Carbonates are a buffer that tends to raise the pH.

What is the tap water KH without the sand?
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 04:54 PM   #6
Marmalade07
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 9
Default

Tap water KH is 0 - 1dkh
Marmalade07 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 05:05 PM   #7
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

How much Amazonia did you add? It should be lowering pH, but i think it's competing with your other soils. ADA is going to release humic and fluvic acids to lower pH and absorb kH and other things in the water as it has a high CEC. Eco-complete has a very high CEC and may be absorbing the things the ADA is releasing and not allowing it the drop the pH. I've seen Eco complete raise or change parameters and I know some people say it's inert and doesn't but I've seen too many people on here to say it has messed with their param's as well.

I think you have two competing substrates and I'm not sure how it's going to work out in the long run. It's hard though that you layered your substrates, in a 150 gal tank no less, so you probably spent a tonne of money on substrate that you can never really remove in an easy fashion without either mixing it all up or scrapping it all.

What are you using to test your pH with?

Lastly, do the substrate in a cup test. I was getting massive algae in a few of my tanks after them running perfect with nothing changing for so long. Checked nitrates, 40ppm. changed water, back to 40ppm, changed more water, more, more, still 40ppm. Took out a cup full of aquasoil, in a cup, fresh water, 24 hours later, 40ppm nitrates. Bought a new nitrate test, 40ppm. My soil had absorbed all the nitrates from the water, then had enough and started releasing it.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012