Eco Complete?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 04:19 AM   #1
Kinection
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kinection's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 930
Default

Eco Complete?


Well my I found out what my parents got me for christmas. (sneaky me)
It's a 100$ Amazon giftcard!!! I was going to breakdown my 30 gal, and I was
thinking about eco complete. How many inches will a 20lb bag of CaribSea eco complete fill in a 30 gal? Has anyone heard good about CaribSea eco-complete? I've read threads that eco-complete "starving" plants, so I'll be getting some root tabs. Seachem or API? How many should I get for a 30 gal? The 10 count or 40 count package? Also, will this substrate be easy for shrimp to "lift"?
Kinection is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2012, 05:01 AM   #2
jschwabe5
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 52
Default

I have Ecco complete in a 180 gallon and 20 gal both are planted. The good: Ecco is a mixed size substrate of both small and very fine size granules It is very easy to plant and settles quickly. The bad: it does seem to starve plants. I have a 30 gallon with Seachem Flourite and plants root faster and show better growth with less Fert use.
__________________
Work In Progress
jschwabe5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 05:22 AM   #3
Kinection
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kinection's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 930
Default

Will seachem root tabs solve the problem though?
Kinection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 06:07 AM   #4
Minor Threat
Algae Grower
 
Minor Threat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 49
Default

save some $ and go for STS and EI dosing.
Minor Threat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 06:25 AM   #5
Kinection
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kinection's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 930
Default

Sorry of I sound ignorant, but what does STS stand
for? Never heard of it. :p
Kinection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:09 AM   #6
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Congrats on the hobby 'koopins' for Christmas.

I believe STS is Safe-T-Sorb the use of clay based absorbents as opposed to buying off the shelf more expensive aquarium products.
Pretty good thread on the topic with a lot of good input.
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=149589

Fertilizer use and alternative substrate materials can save a ton of money but it's best to read a LOT first! Look at threads that include a timeline and details,,, look for several and compare.

Everybody tanks a little differently and results can vary from "OMG what did I do?!?" to "Oh WOW this stuff is awesome~!"

Seachem root tabs add mineral support (micro (plants need a little)) but very little NPK (macro (plants need a lot)).
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:58 PM   #7
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (430/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,443
Default

Avoid the Eco-Complete and get a cheaper substrate, as others have suggested.

That way you have $100 to spend on other tank goodies.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:35 PM   #8
Kinection
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kinection's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 930
Default

Well on Amazon, the STS is 30$, but on Tractor supply it's 5$.
If I do get this, I would just need to wash it and put it in the
tank and I'll be good right? No root tabs or anything? I'm just
planting DHG, Jungle vals, and moss etc. :p
Kinection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:21 PM   #9
Minor Threat
Algae Grower
 
Minor Threat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 49
Default

STS is $5 at tractor supply, but it may be far from you. you can find it at drill spot for under $10 shipped too. you will need ferts as all plants do. get some dry ferts from aquariumfertilizer.com. you can sprinkle a little (i mean very little) osmocote plus too if you want instead of root tabs as its much cheaper.
Minor Threat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:35 PM   #10
junglefowl
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
junglefowl's Avatar
 
PTrader: (42/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 675
Default

I heard that you will need 2 20-lb bags of EC to get to 2inches in a 30gal tank, I would suggest you to get 3 inches at least.
I'm using EC right now, I also use Flourish tabs and my plants grow really good. I like it compare to the price.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
junglefowl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:13 PM   #11
Kinection
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kinection's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 930
Default

Jungle, you sure? Because I remember
when I bought a 20lb bag of black gravel
from petsmart for my 30 gal a couple
of years ago, I had 2 inches. o.o
Also, will DHG grow good in Eco-complete
with root tabs?
Kinection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 01:27 AM   #12
HybridHerp
Planted Tank Guru
 
HybridHerp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 3,355
Default

if you are revamping the tank, just do dirt with a cap of whatever you like.
honestly, I feel like its the best bang for the buck, and hell, you can even mineralize it if you want to

I have a tank that is just eco-complete, and its not the worst but its not the best either. I couldn't drain the tank though which is why I just used eco and not soil, but everything other tank I have is now dirted.
__________________
My 75 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/n7zp47m
My 10 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/qyf7s5o
My 5.5 gallon nano College Dorm Tank:http://tinyurl.com/p54uupj
Mom's Spec V:http://tinyurl.com/qjt3rw2
HybridHerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:00 AM   #13
Kinection
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Kinection's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 930
Default

Would a layer of dirt under eco be good as root tabs with eco?
That would be much cheaper. If I use the dirt, can I still put my
shrimp in right after?
Kinection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:08 AM   #14
junglefowl
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
junglefowl's Avatar
 
PTrader: (42/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaticStory View Post
Jungle, you sure? Because I remember
when I bought a 20lb bag of black gravel
from petsmart for my 30 gal a couple
of years ago, I had 2 inches. o.o
Also, will DHG grow good in Eco-complete
with root tabs?
Thats what I heard, I have EC in my 10gal tank now with flourish tabs. Only one bag and it creates a slope from 2 to 3 inches, and I plant DHG in there also, its growing. My tank is set up in 5 weeks. You can see the pictures
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1355886651.105406.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	301.0 KB
ID:	59139Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1355886679.358537.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	281.6 KB
ID:	59141Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1355886703.728704.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	263.6 KB
ID:	59142
junglefowl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:41 PM   #15
HybridHerp
Planted Tank Guru
 
HybridHerp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 3,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaticStory View Post
Would a layer of dirt under eco be good as root tabs with eco?
That would be much cheaper. If I use the dirt, can I still put my
shrimp in right after?
It would be better, and heck, you could STILL add root tabs if you wanted too.
__________________
My 75 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/n7zp47m
My 10 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/qyf7s5o
My 5.5 gallon nano College Dorm Tank:http://tinyurl.com/p54uupj
Mom's Spec V:http://tinyurl.com/qjt3rw2
HybridHerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012