Aqueon evolve 8 troubles
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 09:02 PM   #1
plantastic37
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 224
Default

Aqueon evolve 8 troubles


Was wondering if anyone else has ran into this issue and what you have done to overcome this.

It seems that if you want to use carbon to help clarify your water, you are forced to use an all-in-one cartridge that requires you to replace the whole thing which means you are ditching all the bacteria you cultivated on the pad each time because your carbon has been exhausted.

Is there any alternative?

Was thinking of getting a HOB aquaclear filter and using that but thinking that would screw something up.
plantastic37 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 10:17 PM   #2
golfer_d
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 181
Default

I think some people have just used sponges in the back filter area and then used bags of carbon sitting in the back holding tanks.

If I am not mistaken, there should be enough bacteria in the rest of the tank to keep it stable during that change? I have a bunch of sponges and bio max in the pump side.
golfer_d is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 10:53 PM   #3
aznartist34
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 551
Default

The evolve's overflow chamber area has a lot of room for customization. You can put all sorts of media in there when you ditch the stock filter pad.
aznartist34 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 12:18 AM   #4
J.mccollum
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rockwall, tx
Posts: 213
Default

I have not use the carbon. I packed mine full of ceramic media and sponges, on the other side I have a real fine sponge(like cotton batting) on top of the pump. Makes for very clean tank and lots of room for bacteria and lots left when I swap out the sponges.

Last edited by J.mccollum; 12-10-2012 at 12:19 AM.. Reason: SpellIng
J.mccollum is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 01:58 AM   #5
HunterX
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
HunterX's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 374
Default

Check out the thread in my signature. It shows how I modded mine!
HunterX is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 04:07 AM   #6
plantastic37
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterX View Post
Check out the thread in my signature. It shows how I modded mine!
Love it! Do you every worry about it getting too gunked up and then overflowing the back because it can not pass through? Or do you keep your tank level low enough to accommodate this if it were to happen.
plantastic37 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 10:53 PM   #7
plantastic37
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 224
Default

So no excel or excel? Also should I be doing regular flourish and how much would you do? Anything else I should do?

Do I have a light bio load or heavy?

thanks!
plantastic37 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 09:57 PM   #8
reefscape15
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 8
Default

I think you could cut the filter cartrage and dump out the carbon, then just refill it. Just make sure you cut it across the top
reefscape15 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 01:13 PM   #9
tiggity
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 490
Default

I ditched the Aqueon Cartridge, now using the foam filter for a Fluval 105/106. I have a bag of bio max and purigen in the pump area. Plenty of room to customize your filter media.
__________________
40B Dirt | Aqueon Evolve 8 Dirt | Fraternity of Dirt #120
tiggity is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012