Use Seachem Matrix to seed other tanks?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 04:32 AM   #1
driftwoodhunter
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christiansburg, Va
Posts: 2,756
Question

Use Seachem Matrix to seed other tanks?


Is this possible? I bought the 4L bucket of Seachem's Matrix on Black Friday because I got a 1/2 price deal on it with free shipping. My plan was to fill knee-high pantyhose with it, set them behind the Hamburg Mattenfilter in my established 125g tank, 40B, and 29 for a few months while I'm prepping the floor and setting up new tanks later this winter. Then after planting & while cycling the new tanks, put these knee-highs of Matrix in the new tanks behind their Mattenfilters to help establish beneficial bacteria in them.

Does that sound plausible?
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...stand-pic.html
The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199772
driftwoodhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2012, 04:59 AM   #2
jkan0228
Planted Tank Guru
 
jkan0228's Avatar
 
PTrader: (113/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 5,452
Default

I've done this before with an eheim 2213, ran it on my 95G for a few weeks (longer would be better) and then ran it on my 11.4G when I got everything setup. Put shrimp in the next few days and all was good
jkan0228 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 06:39 AM   #3
xdestry
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: pasadena, ca
Posts: 109
Default

You can use it of course for a new tank but it will still take a few days to cycle, but the time is much, much less.
xdestry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 03:36 PM   #4
driftwoodhunter
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christiansburg, Va
Posts: 2,756
Default

Thanks - that's what I'm looking to do - shorten the cycle - and to leave it in all the tanks for additional surface areas for bacteria.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...stand-pic.html
The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199772
driftwoodhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012