Pool filter sand question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
Askani127
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fl
Posts: 11
Default

Pool filter sand question


First time poster here! I'm looking to replace my aquarium with pool filter sand instead of gravel. I just bought a 50lb bag of http://reviews.homedepot.com/1999/20...ws/reviews.htm from home depot. Is this the correct type? I want to double check before I put it in. Thanks
Askani127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2012, 10:13 PM   #2
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,496
Default

Should be fine. I have used all sorts of box store sands, just rinse them for dust first.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:18 PM   #3
ngrubich
Wannabe Guru
 
ngrubich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,032
Default

Yea, that sand will work.

Be advised that you will be rinsing that sand for quite a while (mine was super dusty and took ~15 min per half-bucket to wash it enough). Also, depending on what type of filter setup you have, I would be wary of turning on the filters immediately afterwards. If you have a sump with a fine-micron sock, then go ahead. If you have a HOB, then i would be worried about the impeller sticking/grinding.
Also, pool filter sand (PFS) will brown over time: I got tired of mine looking dirty and went to some CaribSea in my cichlid tank.

Welcome to TPT!
ngrubich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:28 PM   #4
Askani127
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fl
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks! Seem's like I'll have a lot of rinsing to do tonight lol.. I have a HOB filter should I just turn it off and let everything settle before turning it back on?
Askani127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:35 AM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,315
Default

If the intake is higher above the substrate then that is safer. but I would give it a couple of hours to settle, if needed.

Set up the tank, rock, driftwood, and plant it, misting the plants.

When you are ready to fill the tank put a plate or plastic bag over the substrate and run the water in slowly so it seeps over the edges and into the substrate. That will minimize the clouding.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012