Pool filter sand question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
Askani127
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fl
Posts: 11
Default

Pool filter sand question


First time poster here! I'm looking to replace my aquarium with pool filter sand instead of gravel. I just bought a 50lb bag of http://reviews.homedepot.com/1999/20...ws/reviews.htm from home depot. Is this the correct type? I want to double check before I put it in. Thanks
Askani127 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2012, 10:13 PM   #2
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,494
Default

Should be fine. I have used all sorts of box store sands, just rinse them for dust first.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 10:18 PM   #3
ngrubich
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
ngrubich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 930
Default

Yea, that sand will work.

Be advised that you will be rinsing that sand for quite a while (mine was super dusty and took ~15 min per half-bucket to wash it enough). Also, depending on what type of filter setup you have, I would be wary of turning on the filters immediately afterwards. If you have a sump with a fine-micron sock, then go ahead. If you have a HOB, then i would be worried about the impeller sticking/grinding.
Also, pool filter sand (PFS) will brown over time: I got tired of mine looking dirty and went to some CaribSea in my cichlid tank.

Welcome to TPT!
ngrubich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 10:28 PM   #4
Askani127
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fl
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks! Seem's like I'll have a lot of rinsing to do tonight lol.. I have a HOB filter should I just turn it off and let everything settle before turning it back on?
Askani127 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2012, 12:35 AM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,417
Default

If the intake is higher above the substrate then that is safer. but I would give it a couple of hours to settle, if needed.

Set up the tank, rock, driftwood, and plant it, misting the plants.

When you are ready to fill the tank put a plate or plastic bag over the substrate and run the water in slowly so it seeps over the edges and into the substrate. That will minimize the clouding.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012