How to plug in a T5HO fixture
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2012, 08:30 PM   #1
Brian041
Planted Member
 
Brian041's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 182
Default

How to plug in a T5HO fixture


I just bought 2 T5HO light fixtures (ballasts built in if I'm not mistaken) but I'm not sure what to buy so I can plug them into a normal household socket. The plug end that is on the fixture has four holes.

This is the item except mine has 2 bulbs per fixture instead of 1.
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UMelxO0YqQo

This is the socket.
Brian041 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2012, 08:53 PM   #2
CoffeeLove
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
CoffeeLove's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ca
Posts: 482
Default

You sure you don't have to hardwire that one?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
CoffeeLove is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 09:19 PM   #3
ngrubich
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
ngrubich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoffeeLove View Post
You sure you don't have to hardwire that one?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
+1 on hardwiring.

I'm not going to lie, when I read the title, I thought you were referring to plugging it into an outlet
ngrubich is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 12:42 AM   #4
DanSanDiego
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 32
Default

You do have to hard wire that fixture that he linked to from Home Depot. But I must be honest I have never seen that type of connection that he shows in the picture. Usually its just two wires, black and white.
DanSanDiego is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 02:16 AM   #5
scotty82
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
scotty82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/92%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 300
Default

I'm an electrician and that connection is very common with the new fixtures. You just strip about 1/4 inch of the wire and shove it in the hole. Just make sure you line the white (neutral) with the white and the black (hot) with the black wire. There should be a 1/2 inch punched knock out on the side of the fixture, you can just get a 1/2" romex connector and screw it on (after you punch out the 1/2" hole). Put your wire through there and you have your cord. If you want you can just cut the female plug off an extinction cord and use that cord so you can just plug it in.
__________________
We don't inherit this world from our parents, we borrow it from our children.
scotty82 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 02:47 AM   #6
Brian041
Planted Member
 
Brian041's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngrubich View Post
+1 on hardwiring.

I'm not going to lie, when I read the title, I thought you were referring to plugging it into an outlet
That's what I meant. I figured I was missing a ballast or some sort of adapter part. The one for my fish t5ho had a similar plug only it was circular with 4 holes rather than square with 4 holes.
Brian041 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 02:47 AM   #7
Brian041
Planted Member
 
Brian041's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanSanDiego View Post
You do have to hard wire that fixture that he linked to from Home Depot. But I must be honest I have never seen that type of connection that he shows in the picture. Usually its just two wires, black and white.
There are 2 black and white wires that attach to that square plug.
Brian041 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 02:49 AM   #8
Brian041
Planted Member
 
Brian041's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty82 View Post
I'm an electrician and that connection is very common with the new fixtures. You just strip about 1/4 inch of the wire and shove it in the hole. Just make sure you line the white (neutral) with the white and the black (hot) with the black wire. There should be a 1/2 inch punched knock out on the side of the fixture, you can just get a 1/2" romex connector and screw it on (after you punch out the 1/2" hole). Put your wire through there and you have your cord. If you want you can just cut the female plug off an extinction cord and use that cord so you can just plug it in.
Can I get a stripped down version of that explanation? lol I'm a woodworker more than electrician (though that's on my bucket list of skills to learn)
Brian041 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 11:07 AM   #9
scotty82
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
scotty82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/92%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 300
Default

Ok, to start off get you a cheap extension cord. Start at the male end (part that plugs in the wall) and measure how long you want it, then add 2-3 feet. It's better to be a little long than an inch short. Cut the cord. Use razor knife or wire strippers to score the outer jacket of the cord, not to much, just about half way through the outer layer. You'll want to do this score about 1 foot back from where you made the cut. Fold the cord over where you scored it and roll that around, doing this so folding it basically finishes ripping the part you scored so it doesn't cut the 3 wires inside. Get a 1/2" romex connector and put it in the 1/2" hole in the fixture. You'll have to take a screwdriver and hammer and punch out the hole in the fixture. Put the cord through the connector long enough so the ends of the wires will not be tight but will fit into the fitting you have a pic of. Strip the last 1/4" of the wires (black and white) and just push them into their color on your fixture fitting. Don't worry about using the 4 holes, they are for in and out type wiring. Or if you want just cut that fitting off and wire nut them together, thats just as good. For the green wire, you should see a green screw just sitting out by itself. Usually about half way down the fixture. Strip the green wire back, I usually do about an inch. Wrap the part you stripped around the green screw (to the right). Tighten green screw. Put fixture cover back on and plug in. Hope this helps.
__________________
We don't inherit this world from our parents, we borrow it from our children.
scotty82 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 05:15 PM   #10
Brian041
Planted Member
 
Brian041's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty82 View Post
Ok, to start off get you a cheap extension cord. Start at the male end (part that plugs in the wall) and measure how long you want it, then add 2-3 feet. It's better to be a little long than an inch short. Cut the cord. Use razor knife or wire strippers to score the outer jacket of the cord, not to much, just about half way through the outer layer. You'll want to do this score about 1 foot back from where you made the cut. Fold the cord over where you scored it and roll that around, doing this so folding it basically finishes ripping the part you scored so it doesn't cut the 3 wires inside. Get a 1/2" romex connector and put it in the 1/2" hole in the fixture. You'll have to take a screwdriver and hammer and punch out the hole in the fixture. Put the cord through the connector long enough so the ends of the wires will not be tight but will fit into the fitting you have a pic of. Strip the last 1/4" of the wires (black and white) and just push them into their color on your fixture fitting. Don't worry about using the 4 holes, they are for in and out type wiring. Or if you want just cut that fitting off and wire nut them together, thats just as good. For the green wire, you should see a green screw just sitting out by itself. Usually about half way down the fixture. Strip the green wire back, I usually do about an inch. Wrap the part you stripped around the green screw (to the right). Tighten green screw. Put fixture cover back on and plug in. Hope this helps.
I'll check all this out when I get home. So basically I can remove the 4-hole plug at the end of the black and white wires?
What do you mean, "fold the cord" do you mean roll back the sleeve? or twist the sleeve till the sleeve tears off?
Brian041 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 10:30 PM   #11
scotty82
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
scotty82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/92%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 300
Default

Yes, you can just cut the 4 hole plug off and wire nut the wires to the cord wires. By folding the cord I just bend it tight to itself in a U shape. It'll do the same as twisting the sleeve. It just depends on the type of extension cord you get. Basically just try not to cut the wires.
__________________
We don't inherit this world from our parents, we borrow it from our children.
scotty82 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 12:10 AM   #12
Brian041
Planted Member
 
Brian041's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty82 View Post
Yes, you can just cut the 4 hole plug off and wire nut the wires to the cord wires. By folding the cord I just bend it tight to itself in a U shape. It'll do the same as twisting the sleeve. It just depends on the type of extension cord you get. Basically just try not to cut the wires.
Upon closer inspect that 4 hole plug is actually just snapped on to a 2 hole plug. It says Luminaire Disconnect. Should I still chop off the 2 hole plug?
Brian041 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 01:20 AM   #13
scotty82
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
scotty82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/92%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 300
Default

Yes you are fine with cutting the plug off. You will be perfectly fine just wire nutting the wires together. Those plugs are just for guys like me, say I have to come to that fixture in an office building and change the ballast. That plug is there so I can turn power off of just that one fixture without having to turn all the lights in the office off. There are 4 holes on one side of the plug so that power can come in AND out. They do this so the electrician can just send short whips from one fixture to another. Just cut it off and wire nut the white and black wires to your cord. It'll work just fine that way.
__________________
We don't inherit this world from our parents, we borrow it from our children.
scotty82 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 12:50 PM   #14
Brian041
Planted Member
 
Brian041's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 182
Default

Alright. That makes sense. Im gonna kick myself for asking this, but how hard is it to wire the lights to a switch so I can turn it on and off rather than just unplugging it?
Brian041 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 06:51 PM   #15
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian041 View Post
Alright. That makes sense. Im gonna kick myself for asking this, but how hard is it to wire the lights to a switch so I can turn it on and off rather than just unplugging it?
If you are going to have the lights on a timer, there is no point in installing a switch as well (unless you want the redundancy of being able to control it manually as well; of course, you could just pull the plug as well...)

If you want to install a switch, however, it is not much more difficult.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012