How to reconstitute RO/DI water for CRS SS
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 01:19 PM   #1
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

How to reconstitute RO/DI water for CRS SS


Experts,

i have a quick question:

I have a couple of CRS and other shrimp tanks, the two tanks in question are a 20 gallon and an 80 gallon tank. i currently reconstitute my water in the following manner to attain a PH of 6.8 GH of 4 and kh of 1.5 at a TDS of 155 - i use equilibrium with Alkaline buffer and acid buffer.

i use ADA amazonia ii and i am heavily planted on both tanks and i do use CO2

the other method i use is to mix my RO/DI water with well water at a ratio that gives me a a ph of 6.9 (amazonia will drop the ph to 6.7) gh of 4 and kh of 4 (which i know is high) at a tds of 120, if i add the Seachem acid buffer to lower the kh to 2 the TDS spikes to 150+

my question is what is the best method to reconstitute my RO/DI water and is 150 TDS too high. keep in mind that i am reconstituting water for 100 gallons and i need to make sure this is affordable.

I thank you all for your help
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2012, 01:33 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (422/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,222
Default

150 isn't too high.

The best method, if you can swing it, is to buy a better remineralizing product like Mosura Mineral Plus Ultra, Shirakura Ca+ or the Salty Shrimp products. They're all cleaner, lower TDS, better goodies for shrimp as they're shrimp-specific. Salty Shrimp will be the most affordable and Alpha Pro Breeders keeps it in stock.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:47 PM   #3
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Thank you, wich one is the best one, maybe ill try it just on my smaller tank
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:11 PM   #4
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (422/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,222
Default

Shirakura Ca+ is my personal pick. It's the cleanest (lowest TDS) but most expensive.

But if you have a large amount of water? Then 1,000 grams of Salty Shrimp Bee Shrimp Mineral GH+ will last a long time. Especially if you're only remineralizing the water you use for water changes and not your entire body of water.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:33 PM   #5
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Thank you, ill look into it for sure
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:04 PM   #6
Lkittredge
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carrollton/Lewisville TX
Posts: 78
Default

I am new to this, but I bought the smaller size of the Salty Shrimp Bee Shrimp Mineral GH+ based on recommendations here and I have been pleased with it. It gets the R/O water to a GH of 5 by using the recommended amount. TDS is in the 120s. It does not take much either so it seems like it will last a long time. I have berried females and some baby shrimp so seems like a good product to me.
Lkittredge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:04 PM   #7
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Thanks man, does it have any effect on the kh? I need a kh of 2 due to the fact that I infect co2
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:31 PM   #8
Lkittredge
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carrollton/Lewisville TX
Posts: 78
Default

Honestly I will have to test the KH to confirm. I used an older (5 years) KH test kit that showed it to be either 1 or 2 don't remember for certain, but I don't trust it and just last week got a new KH test kit that I have not used. I will test it tonight and let you know. The GH I mentioned was tested with a new test kit and I comfortable with those readings.
Lkittredge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:21 PM   #9
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Thank you
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:29 AM   #10
Assassynation
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lkittredge View Post
Honestly I will have to test the KH to confirm. I used an older (5 years) KH test kit that showed it to be either 1 or 2 don't remember for certain, but I don't trust it and just last week got a new KH test kit that I have not used. I will test it tonight and let you know. The GH I mentioned was tested with a new test kit and I comfortable with those readings.
How do you get those KH readings, Is that how many drops it takes for the water to turn yellow?
Assassynation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:42 AM   #11
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Yes sir
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:31 AM   #12
Lkittredge
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carrollton/Lewisville TX
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fplata View Post
Yes sir
Ok I tested and it has a kh of 2. Unfortunately that is not a pure test as I forgot I had a small piece of limestone in the bucket. I will make a new bucket tonight and test tommorrow.
Lkittredge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:18 PM   #13
Lkittredge
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carrollton/Lewisville TX
Posts: 78
Default

Made new 5 gallon bucket of RO water. I added one level scoop. Test results GH of six KH zero TDS 104. Note that package says a level scoop treats 3 gallons or 20 liters. The liter to gallon conversion is off. 20 liters is a little over 5 gallons so the scoop treats 5 gallons to a GH of six.
Lkittredge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:59 PM   #14
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Thank man, I really appreciate your help.
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:33 PM   #15
randyl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lkittredge View Post
... Note that package says a level scoop treats 3 gallons or 20 liters. ...
I think the instructions mean 3 grams (full spoon) treats 20 liters (~ 5Gallons).
randyl is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012