Water drums for water changes
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 04:24 AM   #1
oheresy
Algae Grower
 
oheresy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 109
Default

Water drums for water changes


I have two 55g drinking water drums that I will be using for water changes. I would like to keep them filled and de-chlorinated. I would have a heater in them to warm up the day before a water change.

Here's my question: should I add Prime and a power head to keep the water agitating and degassed? What would you recommend?
oheresy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2013, 06:44 AM   #2
JEden8
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
JEden8's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 876
Default

I would. I'd also add an air stone to keep oxygen levels high.
__________________
JEden8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 06:47 AM   #3
mistahoo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
mistahoo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston,Tx
Posts: 747
Default

If it's drinking water drums, there's no need. I don't aerate my 7g jug of water and I leave it sealed off since it's RO/DI. Airstone only agitates the water to increase oxygen exchange rate. A powerhead will do the same thing.
__________________
SunSun Pimp #82|RAOK Club Member #89|Eheim Pimp #543

210G|1.5G Iwagumi DSM|5G Fluval Chi
mistahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:14 AM   #4
oheresy
Algae Grower
 
oheresy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 109
Default Re: Water drums for water changes

Thanks for the replies. I thought about an air stone for keeping the water oxygenated, and also to help degass chlorine.

I originally bought the drums for salt water aquariums, but didn't go that direction.
oheresy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 11:12 AM   #5
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

I let mine run with just a strong powerhead, the one that actually pumps the water in the tank. Keeps it from getting stagnant and its less messy than an airstone. I have it pointed up so there is tons of surface movement. And its about a 800 gph turnover in a 60 gallon drum.. works great. Heater takes 4 hours if the water is at room temp. Or 8 hours if i stick it in before bed
I dose half the reccommended dose of chlorine remover 10 hours before i pump water in. The past 4 months its worked great. I change 80% weekly in my tank
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 01:21 PM   #6
roadmaster
Wannabe Guru
 
roadmaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri united states
Posts: 1,917
Default

Just make sure floor can hold the weight of both drum's full of water,plus water in aquarium if nearby.
roadmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 04:32 PM   #7
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
I let mine run with just a strong powerhead, the one that actually pumps the water in the tank. Keeps it from getting stagnant and its less messy than an airstone. I have it pointed up so there is tons of surface movement. And its about a 800 gph turnover in a 60 gallon drum.. works great. Heater takes 4 hours if the water is at room temp. Or 8 hours if i stick it in before bed
I dose half the reccommended dose of chlorine remover 10 hours before i pump water in. The past 4 months its worked great. I change 80% weekly in my tank
Agreed with this guy. I use 55g food grade barrels myself, and thats exactly how i do it.
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:46 AM   #8
steveo
Algae Grower
 
steveo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tecumseh, MI
Posts: 91
Default

I simply have a power head and heater in by 32 gallon barrel of RO/DI water. No need for an airstone.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:19 AM   #9
oheresy
Algae Grower
 
oheresy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 109
Default Re: Water drums for water changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadmaster View Post
Just make sure floor can hold the weight of both drum's full of water,plus water in aquarium if nearby.
The barrels will be in the garage. I'm thinking about building a stand for them to keep them a few feet off the concrete slab.
oheresy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:20 AM   #10
oheresy
Algae Grower
 
oheresy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 109
Default Re: Water drums for water changes

I think I'm going to go with a power head and heater like HD Blazingwolf suggested. Any suggestions on brand/model power head?
oheresy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:29 PM   #11
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oheresy View Post
I think I'm going to go with a power head and heater like HD Blazingwolf suggested. Any suggestions on brand/model power head?
minimum of 300 gph i'd think, but this could take a long time to fill a tank with head pressure and all

get a taam hyper flow 17F
lots of flow, low heat, low enegery consumption, lots of head pressure for its size
and its cheap..
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 05:42 AM   #12
oheresy
Algae Grower
 
oheresy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
minimum of 300 gph i'd think, but this could take a long time to fill a tank with head pressure and all

get a taam hyper flow 17F
lots of flow, low heat, low enegery consumption, lots of head pressure for its size
and its cheap..
Thanks! I'll definitely take a look at that pump.
oheresy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012