New Dirt Tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 11:28 PM   #1
whiteblaze 27
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 206
Question

New Dirt Tank


I am thinking about starting a new dirt tank i have eco complete right now and i was wondering if i could take all of my plants and fish and eco complete out and put in dirt and cap it, i was wondering if that would hurt the fish cause i am hating my eco complete.
whiteblaze 27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2012, 11:37 PM   #2
tylergvolk
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 939
Default

This is what I would do:

1) Remove the fish (Bucket + Air)
2) Remove Plants
3) Remove Water (Buckets etc)
4) Remove Eco-Complete
5) Add prepared Dirt
6) Cap With Eco-Complete
7) Add Plants
8) Add Water
9) Add Fish

*Keeping the same filter and water is vital.

*Expect ammonia spike, battle with x4 50% water changes during the first 2 weeks.

Do this and your fish should be fine.
tylergvolk is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:10 AM   #3
whiteblaze 27
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 206
Default

k thank you good to know...i am suppose to keep all of the water im gonna take out?
whiteblaze 27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:12 AM   #4
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Single day setup using all the water, plants and other materials from the 20 long setting up the new 29g.


1 1/2" of mud pudding.



Capped with the black grit and planted. The crypts will fill this tank.



Albinos with a black substrate have nowhere to hide LOL


Founding member in The Fraternity of Dirt

A single WC of 20g was done 5 days after the reset.
Two weeks into the tank change the cycle never stumbled using everything from the 20L.
The filter was cleaned after that second week.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:15 AM   #5
whiteblaze 27
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 206
Default

did you use the same water?
whiteblaze 27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:21 AM   #6
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteblaze 27 View Post
did you use the same water?
About 16g of it transferred over in the swap. Don't clean or wipe down anything during the transfer. Bio-film (good bactor) coats everything in the tank. Prepping for the transfer I had cleaned the filter about 2 weeks before the swap and cleaned it again 2 weeks after. Worked fine but I did test the water everyday the first week. Never saw any ammonia so nothing stumbled.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:26 AM   #7
whiteblaze 27
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkndracer View Post
About 16g of it transferred over in the swap. Don't clean or wipe down anything during the transfer. Bio-film (good bactor) coats everything in the tank. Prepping for the transfer I had cleaned the filter about 2 weeks before the swap and cleaned it again 2 weeks after. Worked fine but I did test the water everyday the first week. Never saw any ammonia so nothing stumbled.
k thanks for the help
whiteblaze 27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012