Noob question phosphate and phosphorus.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 09:47 PM   #1
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Noob question phosphate and phosphorus.


Well I was talking to the nice girl at the lfs today and mentioned that my brown algae is not going away she said its most likely is hi phosphates and to use a phosphate mover or neutralizer. I mention im dose NPK and she said to stop or dose less phosphorus.

So phosphates come from the phosphorus I've been adding. Should I stop all together for say a week or two or just cut my dose in half over the same time frame?
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2012, 10:47 PM   #2
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

phosphates alone don't cause algae.. this is a myth...

how long has ur tank been setup?
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:22 PM   #3
KH2PO4
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 283
Default

Try it. Easiest.

For me, one tank, high PO4, no problem. Another? BGA is so predictable.
KH2PO4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:48 AM   #4
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

2 1/2 to 3 month.
I'll be adding a new filter this week a aqua clear.
I feel the aqueon filter is not really I feel doing its job. Could that be causing or contributing to the algae.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:10 AM   #5
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

brown algae is actually diatoms. its a bacteria that can photosynthesize.

likely due to lower light levels, or not enough plant growth at this point

as the tank matures diatoms usually go away on their own.. this is usually due to other bacterium growing in the tank doing their job to break things down and keep it clean
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:49 AM   #6
BruceF
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Centennial,Co
Posts: 1,112
Default

Phosphorus is an essential element for all life forms. It is a
mineral nutrient. Orthophosphate is the only form of P that
autotrophs can assimilate. Extracellular enzymes hydrolyze
organic forms of P to phosphate. The effect is studied of
different phosphorous concentration on changes in growth
rate of diatom species isolated from Tones River. All
diatoms examined increasing cell division rate with
increasing phosphorous concentration in the medium.
Diatoms, however, were not able to dominate when
phosphate was deficient, although silicate and nitrate were
in excess.

http://www.ijsr.in/upload/228151688Chapter%2021.pdf
BruceF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:47 PM   #7
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

So I'm going to stop dose phosphorus for two week and see if it helps and if it helps I'll start dosing again at about half the recomended and slowly raise the dosage over time.

Last edited by zzrguy; 11-29-2012 at 10:47 PM.. Reason: sp
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:53 PM   #8
rocketdude1234
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 319
Default

As Wolf said, phosphate alone doesn't cause algae and it very well could be a sign of the newness of the tank.

Limiting a vital nutrient for plants is counter productive. Healthy plants can out-compete algae. Also, even if this somehow did work against your diatoms, you'll just get GSA instead.

Grow plants and stop fighting algae.
rocketdude1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 02:55 AM   #9
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (255/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzrguy View Post
So I'm going to stop dose phosphorus for two week and see if it helps and if it helps I'll start dosing again at about half the recomended and slowly raise the dosage over time.
We really do not have enough details to help you based on the information provided.

Light?
Pic of the tank?
Plants? What type, how much, CO2?

Etc...........

Ferts are essential and perhaps the easiest thing in the hobby, but many still have long blamed them for algae and as I often tell folks....."a good myth is very hard to kill".

I dose 10-15 ppm PO4 a week to this tank:



10 ppm to this one:





Algae can be due to many things, but mostly....it's due to folks not addressing the plant needs, which light and CO2 are the dominate issues for 90%(maybe more) of folks having algae issues vs say ferts.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:12 AM   #10
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Tom, you add 15ppm per week? Does that mean that if I where to dose daily I would be dosing close to 2ppm per day?
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:30 AM   #11
Sethjohnson30
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland oregon
Posts: 1,077
Default

Tom,
Sorry to thread jack....but I'm just curious what that foreground plant in your Dutchish tank is
Sethjohnson30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:33 AM   #12
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethjohnson30 View Post
Tom,
Sorry to thread jack....but I'm just curious what that foreground plant in your Dutchish tank is
Looks like UG
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:44 AM   #13
Sethjohnson30
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland oregon
Posts: 1,077
Default

What's ug?
Sethjohnson30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:50 AM   #14
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Ultricolaria graminofilia. I have no clue how to spell it
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:24 AM   #15
sowNreap
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NE TN
Posts: 576
Default

I thought brown diatoms were caused by high silicates. ??

When mine didn't appear be getting any better and in fact seemed to be getting worse even after 3-4 months I finally added PhosZorb to my filter. It made a noticeable difference rather quickly. After several weeks they were gone. I don't know if it was just a coincidence they cleared up when I added the PhosZorb or not, but when they started again after changing my substrate I put the bags back in and they started going away. Again could have been coincidence. But to me it seemed to help. I dose extra Phosphate to put back in what is removed.
sowNreap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012