When Should My Drop Checker be Green
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2012, 08:54 PM   #1
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Question

When Should My Drop Checker be Green


I am using an Apex Jr. controller sunrise/sunset option.

I have my CO2 come on 30 min before sunrise and turn off 60 minutes before sunset.

That said, when should my drop checker show green?
I just started so right now im only getting to about 15ppm.

Any tips greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ron
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2012, 09:07 PM   #2
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (81/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,233
Default

It should be green by the time your lights come on. Then yellow-green by the end of the photoperiod. Depending on how you dissolve co2, you might have to have your co2 come on earlier. Just do your adjustments slowly and watch your fish.
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 09:12 PM   #3
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nokturnalkid View Post
It should be green by the time your lights come on. Then yellow-green by the end of the photoperiod. Depending on how you dissolve co2, you might have to have your co2 come on earlier. Just do your adjustments slowly and watch your fish.
Slow adjustment is key. :-)

Right now its blue-ish green by the end of the day.
I have an atomic inline diffuser. I will upload some pics of the setup.
Right now its taking almost 10 hours to get blue-green at about 1 BPS.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 09:20 PM   #4
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Attached Pictures of the setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 4.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	57714  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	57715  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 3.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	75.8 KB
ID:	57716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	57717  

ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 09:50 PM   #5
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (81/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,233
Default

If anything, it should be bluish-green when the lights first come on. How big is the tank? Do you have 4dkh solution for your dc?
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 09:58 PM   #6
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

75 Gallon

I just put the solution in the drop checker that came with it.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 09:59 PM   #7
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

Since there is a delay in the change of the drop checker's color and it takes time for the CO2 to build up in the water you would probably at the maximum CO2 level a couple hours before lights on if the drop checker was showing blue green at lights on. Not really a problem unless the tank tends to be low in oxygen or you are trying to get as much out of the CO2 tank as possible.

Try taking a water sample from the tank itself at lights out and trying to get close to that level at lights on instead. That won't tell you how much CO2 is in the water as there are other substances in the water affecting pH but it will give you a relative amount. So if your water is 7.4 at lights out then you would like the water to be 7.4 at lights on.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 10:17 PM   #8
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

My tap water is normally 6.8/7.0.

That said my tank is ~6.6 at mid day.

I do have a circulation pump running 24x7 and it creates some surface current.

I have increased to ~1.5 - 2 BPS and will track it tomorrow.
I also enabled my CO2 to start 60 minutes before.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 12:14 AM   #9
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

My fish don't seem upset at all with the addition of the CO2 at that level. Would be nice to see more of a color change to be sure the drop checker is working.

Would investing in the pH controller add-on for the apex be worth it?
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 12:15 AM   #10
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

I will report back to see how the extra 30 min and 1 BPS help out the coloration throughout the day. Thanks again for the help.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 12:44 AM   #11
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,198
Default

I find that it takes a few hours for the inline-diffuser to change the drop checker.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 01:17 AM   #12
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyWithTheFish View Post
I find that it takes a few hours for the inline-diffuser to change the drop checker.
How many BPS and what size tank?

I would assume the inline diffuser would be extremely efficient.

Especially with the amount of flow I have in my tank.
2x Eheim 2217 and 1x 1600 JBJ Circulation Pump

Unless I am mistaken.

Thanks, this pressurized CO2 is very new to me.
I appreciate all the help!
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 01:35 AM   #13
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (81/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldvalente View Post
75 Gallon

I just put the solution in the drop checker that came with it.
Not quite sure what type of solution that comes with that dc. Might wanna ask who you bought that from.

The reaction time of a dc is slow but 1 bps in a 75gal sounds a bit low. I would try around 3-4 bps to start with. Best thing to do when adjusting co2, do it when you are able to be home all day. Use the dc to get close and then monitor the fish while you fine tune. Different tanks have different amounts of dissolved o2. Said tanks can handle more/less co2.
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 01:39 AM   #14
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Thanks I will keep a look see. I get the feeling that getting a pH controller is prob overkill with a dc. Might want to have it just in case as a fail safe.

If my normal pH is 6.8, tap water KH is 3.
Is it worth adding baking soda to up my KH or should I operate within the bounds of my tap water?

Thanks
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 10:58 AM   #15
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

I have been taking pictures of my plants since I setup the CO2.
Some new growth but nothing explosive.

Hopefully something will be happening soon-ish.

I will report back on the DC today to see how it looks in an hour or so when the lights turn on.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012