AC 70 way to much flow
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2012, 08:17 PM   #1
Bettacrazy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bettacrazy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 392
Default

AC 70 way to much flow


I recently decided to get an aquaclear 70 for my 20 long, well it has so much flow that it is blowing up against the front glass, the flow is staying towards the top but this is way way to much flow, how should I diffuse the flow?
__________________
***********************************************
WATER CHANGES WORK WONDERS
I am also a member of fishchannel.com
Bettacrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2012, 08:19 PM   #2
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Put it lengthwise instead if possible. Get's lots of flow throughout the whole tank.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:30 PM   #3
Bettacrazy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bettacrazy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 392
Default

ya but my lighting would either get water on it or be way up front in the tank.
__________________
***********************************************
WATER CHANGES WORK WONDERS
I am also a member of fishchannel.com
Bettacrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:40 PM   #4
keithy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 864
Default

make your own spraybar with larger holes?
__________________
Proud 39th Member of the RAOK club!
keithy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:01 PM   #5
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Ive seen people use a plastic bottle cut to make a little scoop so the water is defuse and sends some to either side.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:47 AM   #6
Bettacrazy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bettacrazy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 392
Default

I think I fixed the problem, if I pull the intake up a little it reduces the flow.
__________________
***********************************************
WATER CHANGES WORK WONDERS
I am also a member of fishchannel.com
Bettacrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:06 PM   #7
TexasCichlid
Surrounded by Blyxa
 
TexasCichlid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,506
Default

Pull the plastic piece out from on top of the impeller. You will see it has a semi-circle ridge that allows flow adjustment. The more centered the intake is over the impeller, the stronger the flow. The more it's off to the right, the slower the flow. Get a file or a dremel and cut down the ridge to allow the input tube to move further to the right.

A sponge pre-filter will also cut down flow and the flow will gradually decrease as the filter runs. Plastic bottle diffuser is also a nice trick.
TexasCichlid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 05:14 PM   #8
CytoEric
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 92
Default

I always run my AC filters full blast, but just deflect the outflow by using a plastic bottle to make a baffle (you can find diys by googling "bottle filter baffle"). It's a pretty popular way to reduce the currents in betta tank, which is how I first found out about it. You can shove an AC sponge in the scoop part of the baffle to slow it even more. The largest filter I've done this on was an AC50, but I imagine it'd work on the bigger filters too.
CytoEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:53 AM   #9
dbosman@msu.edu
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI, USA
Posts: 2,710
Default

Swap the impeller for a smaller AC filter. The "motor" unit is the same for the 20/30/50/70.
dbosman@msu.edu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:35 AM   #10
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbosman@msu.edu View Post
Swap the impeller for a smaller AC filter. The "motor" unit is the same for the 20/30/50/70.
I never knew this! Thank you so much for the info, now I can put ac 70 on a 10 gallon
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:07 AM   #11
babydragons
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
babydragons's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hobokenish, New Jersey
Posts: 505
Default

I'm actually having the same problem.its even worse tho because the flow is so strong is only keeping one side of the tank clean. The side that's not directly under the filter is just cover with debris.
babydragons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012