Does buffering substrate only buffer down?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 10:31 PM   #1
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (69/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,147
Default

Does buffering substrate only buffer down?


Probably a dumb question but does it only buffer down? Throwing an example out...Fluval Shrimp Stratum buffers roughly at 7.0. If you put RO water at 6.4 pH in a tank of FSS will it just stay at 6.4 or will it buffer 'up' to 7.0?
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2012, 10:52 PM   #2
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Not a DBS question at all, I always wanted to ask
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2012, 11:28 PM   #3
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

RO water has no KH, so the pH will be whatever it settles on (usually what your tap water pH is before the RO machine). My RO machine actually made my pH 6.5 tap water into pH 8 for some reason.

But there is one substrate that buffers up or down to 6.5, that's shirakura red bee sand.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (69/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,147
Default

In this particular case I'm using RO by the gallon so pH is 6.4, KH 0, GH 0 and with remineralizing I have noted no adjustment in pH afterwards. So a 6.5 substrate will just basically have the pH at 6.4 of the RO? It's Up Aqua Shrimp Sand I've got.
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 12:35 AM   #5
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Yeah, actually using ro it might lower down into the 5s, when a soil says it buffers DOWN to 6.5, it means tap water with 7.5 pH and moderate hardness. When to use RO, it usually brings it down lower than that.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 12:36 AM   #6
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (69/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,147
Default

Ahhh crap. Thanks Liam
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 12:49 AM   #7
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (440/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,559
Default

Hirose Volcamia can buffer up but it's tough to get in the States.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 12:51 AM   #8
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Hirose is the same company that makes shirakura red bee sand. They're a soil manufacturer in Japan.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 12:55 AM   #9
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (440/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,559
Default

Volcamia G/Green is the stuff I've got Tigers on right now.

Seems to be a lesser quality than the Red Bee stuff that I've seen on YouTube and such.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 01:01 AM   #10
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Hirose makes a good soil, I just have no need for a soil that buffers to neutral.

I'm hoping to visit their facility in the spring, see how our shrimp soils are made first hand. Now that im working for shirakura I can see all the juicy secrets, muahahahahaha
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 01:03 AM   #11
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (440/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,559
Default

Bring that stuff to the States, posthaste!
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 01:05 AM   #12
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Easier said than done, you know that
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 01:12 AM   #13
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (440/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,559
Default

Which is why I got but two bags of Volcamia... after selling off a kidney and an eye to get it.

ravensgate: I've found FSS easier to use with crushed coral than some other substrates. Easier to raise pH, that is.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 02:38 AM   #14
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,073
Default

I'm happy with not that strong buffering capacity of Azoo Plant Grower Bed.
In 20 gal long with 1/2" Akadama and 1 1/2" of Azoo in t days PH went down from 7.8 to 7.2.Brown one is with PH6.9 thought. Some crushed corals in a bag will fix the problem and will keep PH in 7.5
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 02:53 AM   #15
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (69/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plamski View Post
I'm happy with not that strong buffering capacity of Azoo Plant Grower Bed.
In 20 gal long with 1/2" Akadama and 1 1/2" of Azoo in t days PH went down from 7.8 to 7.2.Brown one is with PH6.9 thought. Some crushed corals in a bag will fix the problem and will keep PH in 7.5
I have it in my 12G long and it stopped buffering about a month ago. And it's only been in the tank since August. I was filling it with half tap and half RO and it kept it at a steady 6.8 for the first 3 months, then decided to be at 7.4-7.6 Nothing in the tank that would raise the pH. So now I've got straight RO water only going in there. I think that particular tank is cursed though. Or maybe it's me
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012