Aqueon Floramax T8 in a 30 gallon
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2012, 04:27 AM   #1
ANTIplastic
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Default

Aqueon Floramax T8 in a 30 gallon


Is this a safe bet in regards to not only maintaining plants but having some growth as well?

The whole lighting aspect has been a pain up in the neck. I'm currently running a single T8 Full Spectrum Daylight bulb......and it sucks.
ANTIplastic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2012, 01:43 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (438/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,519
Default

What are the length of the fixture, wattage of the bulb(s) and dimensions of the tank?
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 03:18 PM   #3
BBradbury
Wannabe Guru
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,441
Default Tank Lighting

Quote:
Originally Posted by ANTIplastic View Post
Is this a safe bet in regards to not only maintaining plants but having some growth as well?

The whole lighting aspect has been a pain up in the neck. I'm currently running a single T8 Full Spectrum Daylight bulb......and it sucks.
Hello ANTI...

Lighting isn't "rocket science" if you do a bit of research into what plants you want and their light needs. If you have low light plants, then a single, 32 watt, T8, 6500K bulb is fine. A 40 watt, T12 will work too. GE has a good bulb that most hardware stores carry for a few dollars.

Moderate light plants require a two bulb fixture, but you can use the same 32 or 40 watt bulbs. Add some fish to provide the ferts and "you're in business".

If you get into more demanding plants, then you'll need more light. Then, you get into T5 bulbs, high output and CO2. That's higher tech and requires more research.

I like low tech, but these are suggestions only. This is what's worked for me.

B
__________________
"Fear not my child, just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 10:29 PM   #4
ANTIplastic
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Default

A single 32 watt bulb? The length of the tank is 24 inches. I've never seen a 32 watt 24 inch bulb.
ANTIplastic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 12:15 AM   #5
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ANTIplastic View Post
A single 32 watt bulb? The length of the tank is 24 inches. I've never seen a 32 watt 24 inch bulb.
A 32 watt bulb would be for a 48 inch fixture. What are the full dimensions of your tank so we can more accurately help?
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 03:56 PM   #6
ANTIplastic
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Default

It's 30" x 12" x 18"
ANTIplastic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 03:56 PM   #7
ANTIplastic
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Default

So to be more specific-it's 29 gallons.
ANTIplastic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 03:59 PM   #8
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (438/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,519
Default

What kind of plants do you have and how many inches from the substrate will the light be placed?
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 05:16 PM   #9
ANTIplastic
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
What kind of plants do you have and how many inches from the substrate will the light be placed?

Right now I got Wisteria, Val, Swords, Anacharis, and some banana plants. The light will be 16 inches from the substrate.
ANTIplastic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012