What size ray II for a standard 10 gallon
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
HybridHerp
Planted Tank Guru
 
HybridHerp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 3,569
Default

What size ray II for a standard 10 gallon


I love the ray II I have on my 5.5 and I figure that using it on my newly dirted 10 would be amazing. Just not sure what size to get
__________________
My 75 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/n7zp47m
My 10 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/qyf7s5o
My 5.5 gallon nano College Dorm Tank:http://tinyurl.com/p54uupj
Mom's Spec V:http://tinyurl.com/qjt3rw2
HybridHerp is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2012, 09:38 PM   #2
BenderBendingRodriguez
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: AL, Alabama
Posts: 177
Default

I would say the 18" atleast for the sake of best fit. What size do you have on your 5.5?
BenderBendingRodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
HybridHerp
Planted Tank Guru
 
HybridHerp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 3,569
Default

Not 100% sure to be honest, I believe the 16"
__________________
My 75 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/n7zp47m
My 10 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/qyf7s5o
My 5.5 gallon nano College Dorm Tank:http://tinyurl.com/p54uupj
Mom's Spec V:http://tinyurl.com/qjt3rw2
HybridHerp is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2012, 05:29 PM   #4
STS_1OO
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 289
Default

HybridHerp,

How high from the substrate is your Ray II over your 5.5 and does it put you at enough light to necessitate CO2 and regular ferts?

I'm thinking of the Fugeray or Ray II over my Fluval Spec V.
STS_1OO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2012, 05:40 PM   #5
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (438/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,528
Default

If you don't plan going high-tech with pressurized CO2, you'll want to get a 20" FugeRay instead of the Ray II.

I have to use a couple layers of fiberglass window screen with my FugeRay in order to have low/medium light levels in my 10gal.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2012, 05:48 PM   #6
STS_1OO
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 289
Default

I think that sort of answers my question as well somewhatshocked. Thanks!
STS_1OO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012