broken light
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 12:45 AM   #1
Fish_Bone
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 8
Default

broken light


I recently tried to repair a old 55 gallon light fixture. replaced the bulb and starter...it didn't work. so I bought a aqueon 24" strip light. well right of the box, the end of the provided bulb was loose. I got a new bulb, but for some reason it still didn't work. tried different outlets, a new bulb ( went back and got another.) again....nothing.


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
__________________
30 gallon breeder glass lid Eheim Ecco Pro Easy 60 External Canister Filter Up to 60 US Gallons Aqueon quiet flow 30 filter Up to 30-45 US gallons 24" strip light with a plant and aquarium bulb
Marineland LED Single Bright Light 400 lumens Fish:1 Farlowella 12 harlequin rasboras 6 kuhli loaches 10 danios assorted (long fin, Glo, etc) 1 rainbow shark Plants:Java moss, Christmas moss, Anubis
Fish_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:43 AM   #2
big_trucks_1985
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: townville,sc
Posts: 201
Default

have you checked your power supply?
big_trucks_1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:32 AM   #3
Fish_Bone
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 8
Default

how would you go about doing that?


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
__________________
30 gallon breeder glass lid Eheim Ecco Pro Easy 60 External Canister Filter Up to 60 US Gallons Aqueon quiet flow 30 filter Up to 30-45 US gallons 24" strip light with a plant and aquarium bulb
Marineland LED Single Bright Light 400 lumens Fish:1 Farlowella 12 harlequin rasboras 6 kuhli loaches 10 danios assorted (long fin, Glo, etc) 1 rainbow shark Plants:Java moss, Christmas moss, Anubis
Fish_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:06 AM   #4
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,651
Default

I am offering this only because I have chased a problem before when this was the real problem: is the electric outlet you are using working right? Sometimes the contacts in those outlets get corroded, worn or bent, and things plugged in don't work. And, of course there are circuit breakers or fuses that can be blown.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:53 PM   #5
Fish_Bone
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 8
Default

yeah I tried a different outlet. neither the old or new worked...
I am just going to return the fixture for a new one I guess.


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
__________________
30 gallon breeder glass lid Eheim Ecco Pro Easy 60 External Canister Filter Up to 60 US Gallons Aqueon quiet flow 30 filter Up to 30-45 US gallons 24" strip light with a plant and aquarium bulb
Marineland LED Single Bright Light 400 lumens Fish:1 Farlowella 12 harlequin rasboras 6 kuhli loaches 10 danios assorted (long fin, Glo, etc) 1 rainbow shark Plants:Java moss, Christmas moss, Anubis
Fish_Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:48 AM   #6
dbosman@msu.edu
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI, USA
Posts: 2,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish_Bone View Post
I recently tried to repair a old 55 gallon light fixture. replaced the bulb and starter
That would suggest the wiring is corroded.
It could easily be the the metal contacts in the sockets being bent out of shape.
dbosman@msu.edu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:10 PM   #7
PlantedRich
Planted Tank Guru
 
PlantedRich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Posts: 3,959
Default

It is real easy to chase one's self around in circles. While you have tried a different outlet, are you sure that it was a working outlet? Step one for me would be to find a good outlet for sure. Take a lamp,etc. that is working to plug in where you want to use the tank light. That will tell you if the outlet is good. It is possible to find a number of outlets are all dead in the house. In my house there are several outlets in different rooms all working through a single GFCI outlet in a bathroom we rarely use. It can boggle you when it trips in the room where you don't see it.
PlantedRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012