making frozen dirt cubes
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 03:12 PM   #1
monty67
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NE
Posts: 164
Default

making frozen dirt cubes


THis might be odd but I'm going to be redoing the whole tank later next year. For now I'm trying to get a little better nutrients into the substrate without going crazy with fert tabs that I've had limited sucess with. I was wondering about making a thick mud out of a soil and then freezing it into cubs, then pressing some into the bottom of the gravel.

anyone see problems with that?

Also, do i just need an organic potting soil?

Thanks.
monty67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2012, 03:16 PM   #2
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

No problems at all, why not do it with osmocote?
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:37 PM   #3
monty67
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NE
Posts: 164
Default

not really familiar with it, but after looking it up, fplata, are you talking the soil or actually using the slow release granuels?
monty67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:01 PM   #4
roadmaster
Wannabe Guru
 
roadmaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri united states
Posts: 1,917
Default

Osmocote "Pot shot's " work well for me,Replace them every four month's.
I have also used the granules as bottom sprinkling before placing soil,gravel on top.
roadmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:44 PM   #5
monty67
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NE
Posts: 164
Default

Gonna head over to the hardware store and pick up some of the pot shots after lunch. Thanks folks.
monty67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:12 PM   #6
Mostlydave
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 105
Default

Do you use these just like root tabs?

How many would you use at once in a 38 Gallon?

I'm excited these look much more reasonably priced then root tabs!
Mostlydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:23 PM   #7
roadmaster
Wannabe Guru
 
roadmaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri united states
Posts: 1,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mostlydave View Post
Do you use these just like root tabs?

How many would you use at once in a 38 Gallon?

I'm excited these look much more reasonably priced then root tabs!
Would not use more than three. As they release fertz,some will find it's way into water column but this does no harm unless you use too many.
I normally place one at base of rooted plant's like sword,crypt's.
roadmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:56 PM   #8
monty67
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NE
Posts: 164
Default

Good advise, I just put one at the base of my sad looking crypts and hopefully I will see a boost from them soon. My tank is only a 20 so I'm gonna stick with one for now and judge it over the next couple weeks.
monty67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:19 PM   #9
Mostlydave
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 105
Default

Thanks for the info! I'm currently using seachem liquid ferts, should I try both or are these enough?
Mostlydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:16 AM   #10
roadmaster
Wannabe Guru
 
roadmaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri united states
Posts: 1,917
Default

Would maybe use Seachem's flourish comprehensive along with the Pot shot's for a while and see how plant's do over a few week's.
If more fertz are needed, such as with high energy tank's with CO2 being injected or supplemented, then I would look to dry fertilizer's rather than spend money on more expensive liquid fertz that are perhap's largely water.
roadmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:19 PM   #11
monty67
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NE
Posts: 164
Default

Some might say I'm crazy but I've never had much luck with the Seachem products. I'm using up the last bottle of Flourish I've got just to get rid of it. The best luck I've had with fertilizers (and I haven't tried a lot or great substrates before) was the tetra Flora Pride they sell at petco. Always seemed to have really strong and colorful plants when i was consistently using that.
monty67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:58 AM   #12
psalm18.2
Wannabe Guru
 
psalm18.2's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 1,358
Default

I have made MGOS dirt cubes and used. I have made Oscomote cubes too.
__________________
Multiple planted tanks 1.75g to 55g.
psalm18.2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012