Help choosing right amounts!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 04:27 PM   #1
mcfly84
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 68
Default

Help choosing right amounts!


Okay I've read the sticky for the pros and cons thread and have made up my mind.

Ada Aquasoil or fluval(?) as a base for nutrients and have read mixed reviews I will probably choose which ever suits my budget.

What I plan to do is use either mentioned above as a base and cap with caribsea peace river gravel.

Ending with a depth of approx. 2.25 inches. I do want to put a couple of midground swords in the tank as well. My tank dimensions are 36Wx12Dx16H

My question is: how much do I need? The aquasoil confuses me because of the liter conversion(Honestly didn't really look for the conversion) I know three liters is roughly one gallon but it doesnt really translate well when factoring for the density.

I'm pretty comitted to this as me and my late stepfather used this years ago in our 180 gallon with great results.

Really just looking for the proper ratio and amount of each I need to purchase with out going overboard.

Thanks
mcfly84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2012, 06:12 PM   #2
lochaber
Wannabe Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,982
Default

For a rough estimate, a liter is just a tad bigger then a quart, so 4 liters is about equivalent to a gallon. You could just measure the inside of the tank (lengthxwidth) and then figure how deep you want that layer, and convert that to gallons (or liters if you want to be more precise).

Also, not sure why you would use a cap for that substrate, I was under the impression that capping dirt and what not served to help slow the leeching of ferts and what not into the watercolumn, and also to keep finer/lighter substrate contained so it didn't blow all over the tank and cloud things up.

I've found this kinda useful to play with:

http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012