Replacing Aquasoil
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 01:35 AM   #1
NyteBlade
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
NyteBlade's Avatar
 
PTrader: (42/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 753
Default

Replacing Aquasoil


How often do you guys replace aquasoil, or do you? Between every new scape, every few years, when you move the tank... ?
__________________
Chris
Canon Pimp #20
NyteBlade is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2012, 03:13 AM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,987
Default

Some materials fall apart quicker, and I think some of the ADA products were pretty bad that way. If you have one of the better ones then it should last a very long time, and be reusable when you are re-scaping, even removing it from the tank and storing it for a short time.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
dmagerl
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 317
Default

When I used Aquasoil I noticed that at about the 2 year mark, I had to start supplementing with root tabs to get good plant growth.

Overall, I was not a happy camper with Aquasoil. From the water discoloration to the disintegration, it did not make for a pleasant user experience.
dmagerl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2012, 02:29 PM   #4
sunyang730
Wannabe Guru
 
sunyang730's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,194
Default

Currently, I am replacing it like once every 6 month because I am not happy with the scape. LOL hope that I can get a scape I am happy about soon.....
__________________


Please forgive me for my grammar mistakes!
sunyang730 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2012, 03:10 PM   #5
TexasCichlid
Surrounded by Blyxa
 
TexasCichlid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,506
Default

Supposedly the new Aquasoil is supposed to not melt as quick. Mine has been set up for ~10 months with the Amazonia New and has showed no signs of degrading.
TexasCichlid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012