amquel and ammonia readings
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2005, 10:53 PM   #1
ArcLyte
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 10
Default

amquel and ammonia readings


Hi, I'm rather puzzled about a situation I have
I have had a hospital tank running for 4 weeks (30g) with an eheim 2026 on it.
The during the first week and a half (it started unseeded) it had 8 cardinal tetras and one 50% water change. Then I added one blue ram and a week later I tested the ammonia and the reading was a whopping 8ppm (AP test kit) so I immediately changed 70% water. The next day, the test remained dark green indicating a concentration of 8ppm. Each time I performed a water change I used amquel to detoxify any chloramine present in the tap or tank. I have heard amqual binding to ammonia to form its less toxic form and that messing up readings but to have a water change and still 8ppm with such a small fishload? Even with a maturing filter it should never get that high with weekly water changes?

Any advice would be appreciated!
ArcLyte is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2005, 03:47 PM   #2
Jacan
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 17
Default

http://www.bestfish.com/tips/091798.html

You are not the the only one with high readings when yousing amquel and AP.
Jacan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2005, 08:22 PM   #3
Left C
Planted Tank Guru
 
Left C's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 5,009
Default

Get the AP (or another brand) Ammonia Salicylate test kit and you can read your ammonia level. These are usually labeled for Freshwater and Saltwater and use two reagents. Usually the ones labeled Freshwater are Nesslar test kits which only use one reagent.
Left C is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012