bba and cyanobacteria
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2012, 04:09 PM   #1
georgedodge
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: england
Posts: 71
Default

bba and cyanobacteria


hello i have bba and cyanobacteria i think it is due to phosphates being 10 times higher than they should be, should i reset the whole tank and stop fertilizing altogether
georgedodge is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2012, 04:13 PM   #2
chunkychun
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: fl
Posts: 360
Default

had cyanobacteria but all gone with erythromycin. why not do water changes to correct your phosphate levels? and correcting parameters before you blow up tank
chunkychun is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
georgedodge
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: england
Posts: 71
Default ro water

yes i will i just need to wait till my ro unit comes i was advised toget one because tap has high phosphate, i think this is the root of the problem
georgedodge is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 04:57 PM   #4
KH2PO4
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 318
Default

How high (your tap)? I'm not a fan of having high phosphate in the water.
But the tap should not have higher than 10x than it should be.
So that may not be the root and you may not need the RO.
KH2PO4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 06:16 PM   #5
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,987
Default

10X the desired level of phosphates has not been shown to lead to algae. Many of us have accidentally dosed that much without any consequence. BGA, cyanobacteria, seems to show up when you have too little nitrates, or when there is intense light, like sunlight on areas of the tank, or when there is very little water circulation in the tank. BBA suggests too much light for the amount of CO2 you have available to the plants. (Or any other shortage that stunts the plants growth.)
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012