Eco-Complete affects pH?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 09:14 PM   #1
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

Eco-Complete affects pH?


Been hearing that Eco-Complete raises pH for a time. A couple weeks. Is this true? Will the pH go back to 6.5 after a few water changes? I need to know because if it makes pH fluacate long term I need to delay buying shrimp.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Ask for shrimp
And get advice
Ask for advice
Grow shrimp twice
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2012, 09:18 PM   #2
dougolasjr
Invert Addict
 
dougolasjr's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 833
Send a message via Skype™ to dougolasjr
Default

Never heard of eco complete doing that. Usually it is said to be inert.
__________________
BAMA AGAIN!!!
ROLL TIDE ROLL!!!
-Doug
dougolasjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:15 PM   #3
golfer_d
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 181
Default

It didn't raise mine.
golfer_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:26 PM   #4
HunterX
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
HunterX's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 354
Default

Did not effect my PH
HunterX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:22 AM   #5
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

haha!, depends on the shipped batch I guess because it did raise pH here the last time I tanked it but after 2x water change that was the end of it. About three other members commented around the same time (same thread) of having like results.
dKH only went up by 2 here, nothing major and like I said a couple water changes ended it.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 01:42 PM   #6
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,124
Default

There used to be one that definitely did raise pH, it was designed to do that for hard water tanks.
Then there was some problem about the 'regular' EC also raising pH, but the idea was they had corrected that problem.
That was quite a few years ago.
Is the problem coming back?

I think I would rinse it really well, either in a bucket or by doing several water changes with deep vacuuming, then refill and see if the problem persists. It should not. The basic material EC is made of is inert. It is the additives that might be the problem. They are in liquid form, so once they are rinsed away that should be the end of it.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012