when to add fish?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 06:18 AM   #1
wetrelief
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
Default

when to add fish?


I started a walstad method 40g breeder tank this past friday. I used MCOP and black diamond for my cap. The main question I have is when do you add your fish? I know some add fish right away, but I was warned with MCOP I will have a ammonia swing as the soil decomposes. Should I wait until after the swing...and also is it better to do water changes during that period or to let the tank stable itself?
wetrelief is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2012, 12:06 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (432/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,469
Default

You don't add fish until your tank has completed the initial cycle. When ammonia and nitrite are at zero.

You'll have to make sure you're providing an ammonia source for the bacteria to grow during that time.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:54 PM   #3
wetrelief
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
Default

Thank You. Is household ammonia a good source? Also what would be the dosage rate for a 40g tank?
wetrelief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:57 PM   #4
dougolasjr
Invert Addict
 
dougolasjr's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 835
Send a message via Skype™ to dougolasjr
Default

You really want an Ammonia without any surfactants. Not sure on the dosage.
__________________
BAMA AGAIN!!!
ROLL TIDE ROLL!!!
-Doug
dougolasjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:29 PM   #5
wetrelief
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
Default

thanks
wetrelief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:37 PM   #6
dougolasjr
Invert Addict
 
dougolasjr's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 835
Send a message via Skype™ to dougolasjr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wetrelief View Post
thanks
Check out the link below.

http://www.wikihow.com/Do-a-Fishless-Cycle
__________________
BAMA AGAIN!!!
ROLL TIDE ROLL!!!
-Doug
dougolasjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:31 PM   #7
Matt1977
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 96
Default

Your substrate should have enough ammonia to start the cycle. Even potting mix has ammonia in it. You have to make sure you have a bit of circulation in the tank so that the bacteria colonies have O2 to survive and multiply. I say keep an eye on your ammonia levels...
Matt1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:54 PM   #8
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,739
Default

usually 4-6 weeks
Green_Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:01 PM   #9
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,209
Default

As dougolas said, make sure the ammonia you have, has no surfactants or any other additives. It will likely be a 10% ammonia solution with water.

Test your water to see if your substrate has leached any ammonia - if so, and you have a reading of between 2 and 4 ppms, that should be good to get things started.

Test every couple of days, and should it test out at 1 ppm or less, then add some ammonia - try 2 or 3 teaspoons of the 10% ammonia solution which should be good for your 40 gal to test out @ around 3-4 ppms. Keep adding a couple of tspns of ammonia every time the test shows the ammonia level in the tank has dropped to 1 ppm.

It will very likely take from 4 to 6 weeks to go through the entire cycle, during which nitrites will have peaked and reduced, and your water has developed a reading for nitrates.
When your tank tests 0 for both ammonia & nitrites within 12 hours or so of adding the last batch of ammonia - you'll be good to go. Just do a good-sized water change at that point to reduce the nitrates level.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:56 AM   #10
Django
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Django's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 573
Default

I'd like to add another option. If you have a heavily or moderately planted tank, or can buy a lot of fast growers, that's all you have to do. The plants will take care of the ammonia. I did it after my fish food cycle stalled.
Django is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012