Can i add more laterite?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2003, 02:41 AM   #1
evan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 319
Default

I have a 5.5 gallon tank. i followed the instructions on the the laterite box from Aquarium Pharm. i only added according to the amount stated on the box. my other tanks have a lot more laterite, but very little plants. i want this one to be pretty heavily planted. should i add more laterite? there must be a bare minimum for amount of iron in the substrate. my tank seems to have too little. im thinking about when i get more plants... im going to add a lot more laterite. more iron can't hurt? can it?
evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2003, 05:42 AM   #2
evan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 319
Default

so basically... can i add more First Layer laterite? its just extra iron. im thinking about using 3x the amount because it is such a small tank. i haven't had problems with laterite cloudiness in my other tanks where the laterite is mixed throughout the gravel.
evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 12:33 AM   #3
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

It won't hurt to add more. Just be aware of the cloudiness issue.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 12:34 AM   #4
evan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 319
Default

cool. thnx for ur reply. im gonna add 200 percent more in a week or so when i get my new plants.
evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 01:55 AM   #5
rumples riot
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
rumples riot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood South Australia
Posts: 644
Default

Yes you can add more laterite. Dupla makes a product called Dupla K which is laterite balls. You push then straight into the gravel and there is now mess in the tank. It takes a while for them to disintergrate.

Best of Luck

Rumple
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club member #3: Scribe to the Eheim Pimp Club

90 gallon, CO2 dupla injection, Dupla substrate heating, Dupla Laterite with iron stone substrate, Aquastarlight future 3 x 150 metal Halides, Eheim 2026 pro2's and heavily planted with Discus
rumples riot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 03:00 AM   #6
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

That sure sounds easier to me... :lol:
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 03:25 AM   #7
evan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 319
Default

easier. but costs money. im cheap. i have extra laterite anyways. o yea... and today i finally got my second bulb for my 5.5 gallon. yay. 8)
evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 08:35 PM   #8
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

If you do not get that laterite to the bottom correctly you will surely be creating a new post about algae problems and cloudy water.
Then we will be discussing the difference between "cheap" and "costly"... :roll:

Some things we do can be "costly" without spending a dime...

Good Luck Soldier
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 05:01 PM   #9
evan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 319
Default

nah. aquarium pharmaceuticals laterite is designed to either be under gravel or mixed because eventually the laterite from the bottom will come up. on the box there are two seperate instructions... one is for new tanks where you can put the laterite underneath gravel (obviously looks better) or if you have an established tank you can mix it in. i have done this with my other tanks, and they haven't had any problems with cloudiness at all. 8)
evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laterite question Kris Substrate 2 04-11-2004 12:51 AM
laterite useage mousey Substrate 7 01-10-2004 03:07 AM
Sand and flourite, or laterite. Sebastian Substrate 8 12-18-2003 08:56 PM
Pure Laterite Steve_WI General Planted Tank Discussion 3 11-23-2002 01:29 PM
Laterite Volitan General Planted Tank Discussion 2 09-21-2002 02:37 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012