fluval stratum volume needed??
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 06:12 PM   #1
szymon328
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lawrence, NJ
Posts: 26
Default

fluval stratum volume needed??


hey guys ive recently set up a 30g shrimp tank but at the moment i have less than needed substrate... just gravel and black sand. i have fluval stratum in my 10g and it works great for the plants and shrimp i have. now the question is how much do i need for the thirty that is 30"x12"? my goal would be around 1.5'' of this stuff so that would be 540in^3... i just looked around google and i couldn't find any info to stratum's volume. would one 8.8lb bag of stratum be fine or do i need more?
szymon328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2012, 06:14 PM   #2
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

Substrate Calculator
__________________
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:28 PM   #3
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (428/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,379
Default

This calculator is a bit more specific in that it allows you to calculate the volume needed for Aqua Soil. That's going to be closer to Fluval Shrimp Stratum than the options with the other calculator here on TPT.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
szymon328
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lawrence, NJ
Posts: 26
Default

wouldnt aqua soil be a little more dense than stratum? an so im gonna get two bags thank you
szymon328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:17 PM   #5
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (428/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,379
Default

Yep, it's a bit heavier. The good thing about Fluval Stratum is that it's relatively cheap so if, for some reason, you need more? It should be easy to obtain. Two big bags will probably be plenty, though.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:43 PM   #6
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

i love my fluval shrimp stratum, my crs are breeding like crazy and it will drop my 5 gal down to a ph of 5 if i dont keep on top of water changes
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:16 AM   #7
dubels
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 307
Default

Yeah I realized that the PH will drop if you don't keep up with the water changes.
dubels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012