What should I do?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2014, 05:39 AM   #1
Master503
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (51/96%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 615
Question

What should I do?


Hello

I do have a tank that just run the mosses with Co2. No shrimp or fishes in this tank and it have been run for 4-5 month now. It is just black sand only with cholla wood.

My question: if I want to start the shrimp in this tank, I need to stop the Co2. Do I need to have the large water change before bring shrimp in?

Any idea? Thanks
Master503 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2014, 02:18 AM   #2
Dragonxflare
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 177
Default

You shouldnt need to do a big water change, just enough time for the Co2 to get gassed out of the tank.

Is there a reason why you need to stop the Co2? I run Co2 in my shrimp tank, and do not see any issues. Just make sure that things are stable, and you should be fine.

Also, what kind of shrimp are you planning on adding?
__________________
Check out my 30 gallon shrimp tank Tree journal
Dragonxflare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 03:14 AM   #3
PoPoBTC
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default

From what I've learned about growing moss is that it doesn't necessarily require CO2, You might not even need it.
PoPoBTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 08:20 AM   #4
shrimpcrazy00
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Madill, Oklahoma
Posts: 498
Default hmm

The moss in my tanks is growing like crazy and no co2 or ferts... just a couple 6500k cfls
__________________
10g Snail Tank, 10g Marmokreb Tank, 10g Goldfish Tank (at the moment), 20g metaframe tank (will be Marmokreb tank when its fixed)
shrimpcrazy00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 04:15 PM   #5
Master503
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (51/96%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 615
Default

I just run co2 for growin faster moss. But now I do want to use that tank for select breeding. Ok, I will stop the co2 for few days before bring shrimp over. The parameter are pretty stable so will see thanks
Master503 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 04:23 PM   #6
bostoneric
Happy Happy Happy
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,243
Default

many people use CO2 in their shrimp tanks but I would avoid it if possible. its just 1 more huge factor that *IF goes wrong will kill all your shrimp.

if you feel comfortable with being able to stay on top of your CO2 levels just drop them down a few bps and find the harmony of nice plant growth with shrimp.

personally. i avoid co2 now.
bostoneric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012