Help Filter/pump too strong
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 12:18 AM   #1
hotrodprincess
Algae Grower
 
hotrodprincess's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 116
Default

Help Filter/pump too strong


I bought the girls a new 10 aqueon tank because the light went out on our 3 gallon and we were using our back up pump on it because the origional pump went out. I bought a tank kit I now feel as though I spent to much and should have just stuck with our original three gallon and not had a light. any way the pump.filter that came with it is too strong for our betta and may be too strong for the plants. Do i try to baffel this thing (if so how) or should I just try to sell it and re coop some of my cost. and put the old pump/filter back in it. the old pump/filter said its for a 3-5 gallon tank as least If i remember right it did. I don't think it went up to a 10gal. so it might be a little small for the 10 gallon I don't know what to do and I am feeling very frustrated with this hole home school project. any advice

the new pump is an aqueon quiet flow 10

My old pump/filter is a tetra whisper I believe the box said for 5 gallons.
hotrodprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2012, 12:23 AM   #2
tiggity
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 472
Default

This is fixable, you can put some kind of foam on the output of the filter. If this filter is a hang on the back (HOB) type, you can maybe use foam filter from Aquaclear filters to slow the flow down. Also, search the "Planted HOB Thread" to get some ideas as well.
__________________
40B Dirt | Aqueon Evolve 8 Dirt | Fraternity of Dirt #120
tiggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:00 AM   #3
MSG
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
MSG's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: East Coast
Posts: 511
Default Jam any type of filter floss or poly foam product in the output area

I did that with several of my HOB filters. They're all completely silent now. The least favorite out of these filters is the Aqueon QF10.

I like running filters with the water level 75% below the top, so the filtered water agitates the surface of the water, but you can't do that with the AQ QF10 though because of the way it's designed.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:28 AM   #4
rrastro
Planted Member
 
rrastro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 276
Default

One way that I use to baffle the flow of HOB filters is to buy a cheap soap dish from the dollar store. They are clear acrylic and come with suction cups to stick on the tank wall beneath the outflow of the HOB. Little drain holes allow some water through and the rest is diverted back up to the surface. Works a peach.
__________________
Easing my toes in the water
SFBAAPS Member
rrastro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:20 AM   #5
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Here's what rrastro is talking about. Reduces flow, lets you fill it with more biomedia or floss or whatever. I just put plastic pot scrubbers in mine.

__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:50 AM   #6
rrastro
Planted Member
 
rrastro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 276
Default

Those work too, but I think those are toothbrush holders.
__________________
Easing my toes in the water
SFBAAPS Member
rrastro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:18 AM   #7
hotrodprincess
Algae Grower
 
hotrodprincess's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 116
Default

I will check and see if i can get a stick on soap dish and try that.
hotrodprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012