How to keep plants in substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 07:13 PM   #1
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

How to keep plants in substrate?


I switched substrate 2 weeks ago to this aquariumplants dot com substrate, and I like it a lot, but my plants keep coming out of the substrate. I spend several hours setting the tank up and then filled it, was fine, and then moved a few things around and stuff just started to come up like crazy, it made me so annoyed. I assume it just something I am going to have to deal with until the roots take hold? I also assume I should not put my zebra loaches back in the tank at this point for a few weeks or I am going to have the same problem? I have about 20 fish in the tank, mostly small tetras and the problem has not gotten any wrose with those fish. Just really annoying.
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
ramen lover
Planted Member
 
ramen lover's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 241
Default

i use eco-complete substrate and that substrate is a bit of a pain to plant in. what i do is i dig a small hole.. shove my stem plants in there and pile on the substrate on each side. it seems to work lol.

if it is a bigger plant, you could always tie it to driftwood/rock/etc.
ramen lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:36 PM   #3
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

I did try making hole first, it mostly my vals that pop or sag, I have about 150 of each in the tank.
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:37 PM   #4
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

I use tweezers/forceps/hemostats to hold the roots and pull the crown under the substrate. Release the roots pulling the ends of the tweezers apart so substrate falls around the roots then pull out the tweezers. Gather the leaves and place the crown of the plant at the surface of the substrate. If you are planting without water in the tank then you could make a little trench, lay the plants in and cover up like you are planting onions but that won't work very well with water in the tank what with buoyant plants and substrate moving.

Floaters happen. Just replant and replant and replant.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:43 PM   #5
concepts88
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
concepts88's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 425
Default

Long tweezers help, and planting at an angle instead of straight down helps also (45 degrees), helps hold the plant down.
concepts88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012