Journey to CRS and Orange Neos! (CLOSED)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 09:25 PM   #1
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

Journey to CRS and Orange Neos! (CLOSED)


THIS THREAD IS NOW CLOSED, DUE TO THE DIFFERENCES IN SPECS AND SLOWNESS OF PROGRESS. YOU CAN FIND THE NEW THREAD HERE:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199815

Last edited by phoenixkiller; 12-09-2012 at 12:58 AM.. Reason: Edit
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2012, 09:31 PM   #2
andrewss
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 381
Default

sounds like a good plan
andrewss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:51 PM   #3
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

I hope it is.
__________________
Ask for shrimp
And get advice
Ask for advice
Grow shrimp twice
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:45 PM   #4
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,281
Default

Eco-Complete doesn't contain anything for plants. It's inert but does have a high CEC. If you're looking for a finer substrate, you could get Aquasoil Powder Type.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:45 PM   #5
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
Eco-Complete doesn't contain anything for plants. It's inert but does have a high CEC. If you're looking for a finer substrate, you could get Aquasoil Powder Type.
I would think that what it says on the bag and what others have said is that is does have iron and other minerals for plants, it's supposed to be a plant specific substrate.

And as for Aquasoil, how much do I need??? It's $50 for 9 liters!! My father would KILL me if I got that, but I guess we will see...
__________________
Ask for shrimp
And get advice
Ask for advice
Grow shrimp twice
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:55 PM   #6
rrastro
Planted Member
 
rrastro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 276
Default

Pejerrey and others use CO2 in their planted tanks with shrimp. It can be done.
As for substrate if price is a concern you could buy a smaller amount of the fancy stuff and use it as a bottom layer with a cap of whatever sandy inert substrate you like over it. Or you could just use root tabs and EI dosing unless you need fancy substrate more for the pH buffering than for the nutrients.
__________________
Easing my toes in the water
SFBAAPS Member
rrastro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:58 PM   #7
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

In my other thread where I'm asking questions specific to CRS, several have said that CRS and other shrimp dont fare well with ferts.
__________________
Ask for shrimp
And get advice
Ask for advice
Grow shrimp twice
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:02 PM   #8
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,281
Default

It's a plant-specific substrate. But do some research here on the forum. I've published emails from CaribSea's North American sales manager explaining to me that it contains nothing. There may be a few additives in the liquid it ships with but there's nothing in the substrate unless you add it - it's high CEC is great. Nutrients? Negligible to non-existent. Having used it for years, I can attest to that, as can most here on TPT.

You can use various substrate calculators found online to determine exactly how much you'll need.

You won't have to use ferts with the plants you've selected. You can use root tabs. Or if you go with Aquasoil, you won't have to add anything.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:04 PM   #9
rrastro
Planted Member
 
rrastro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 276
Default

OK, I'm just going off what your first post said with full EI dosing.
There's plenty of margin to use light EI dosing periodically if you're set on keeping certain plants that may need a touch up. Also, there are members of this forum who use ferts and successfully keep CRS. Perhaps their breeding is not as rapid or prolific but the shrimp seem to do well otherwise. It all depends on your goals for your tank.
__________________
Easing my toes in the water
SFBAAPS Member
rrastro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:04 PM   #10
Curt_914
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Curt_914's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Thornton, Colorado
Posts: 313
Default

I have also used Eco complete for the beter part of 5 years beleveing the bag at the begining, but it didnt do anything other then buffer my water up for the first year or so, an it took 5years for my crypts to finnaly take off. You can get a 9l bag of AS from aqua forest and that will be more then enough for a 10 gallon tank and then some, I would get the powder type. Also for CRS Everyone here says 6.5 or lower is whereyou want your ph. When I used eco complete I regularly had my ph in tank around 7.4-7.6, water out of tap was like 6.8 at the time. Just something to think about.

Curt
__________________
So Many Hobbies... So Little Time...

EHEIM #524 CLASSIC 2217, AUTO FEEDER

55 Gallon Tank:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=193422

20H Shrimp Tank: http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=194165
Curt_914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:55 PM   #11
maxwellag
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
maxwellag's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrastro View Post
Pejerrey and others use CO2 in their planted tanks with shrimp. It can be done.
As for substrate if price is a concern you could buy a smaller amount of the fancy stuff and use it as a bottom layer with a cap of whatever sandy inert substrate you like over it. Or you could just use root tabs and EI dosing unless you need fancy substrate more for the pH buffering than for the nutrients.
I agree. Neocaridinas are more sensitive to co2. Most of the caridinas are fine with it.
maxwellag is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:01 PM   #12
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

When school's done for the day, I'm gonna modify the first post. If you (Yes, you, the one who is reading this) has seen one of my recent threads, then you know that I am gonna make this tank pretty much a moss tank!

I'll ask about dosing ferts, but the guys I have been talking to said I don't need them with the mosses I want.
__________________
Ask for shrimp
And get advice
Ask for advice
Grow shrimp twice
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:09 PM   #13
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,281
Default

You won't need ferts at all for moss.

Can't wait to see how this turns out! It'll be great.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:48 PM   #14
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
You won't need ferts at all for moss.

Can't wait to see how this turns out! It'll be great.
Sounds good.

I can't either! Let's see how it turns out... when I can convince my dad to let me spend another $40 on this tank... then there's the shrimp themselves... this ought to be interesting lol.
__________________
Ask for shrimp
And get advice
Ask for advice
Grow shrimp twice
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:35 AM   #15
phoenixkiller
Planted Tank Guru
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (28/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 637
Default

Just ordered about 9 liters of ADA Aquasoil/Amazonia substrate. Should be here around the weekend time.
__________________
Ask for shrimp
And get advice
Ask for advice
Grow shrimp twice
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012